Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

2011 premium installation questions

Accepted Solution Solved
Accepted Solution

2011 premium installation questions

I have just completed upgrading from 2010 Premium for workgroups to 2011 Premium for Workgroups.. On 2 of the remote database machines the option to sync now is greyed out, and the machine behaves like a server.

These 2 machines were upgraded from XP Pro to Windows 7.

My thinking is that Act 2011 saw this as a clean install and now thinks the machine is a server.

Is there anyway to make the machine behave as a remotedb client so that it can sync with the server?

I have been installing act since 2000 and never had this much trouble in the client/server process.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be of great help. I have been covering the knowledgebase and community for over 36 hours and have not found any helpful ideas.

Bruce

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author bnewton@coelyngroup.com
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: 2011 premium installation questions

Bruce,
I think it was the restoring of the backup that may have done it. Did by chance the computer name of the machine get changed in the process of upgrading the O/S? This would have the same effect as moving the database to a new machine, which with a remote database cannot be done using backup/restore.

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Bronze Contributor

I would say that you need to recut the remotes is the only option here and if there is data in the remotes that you need to get back to the master database then you need to do this via Export/Import by moving the remotes to the server and opening them on the server first.

Paul Buchtmann
pbuchtmann@ozemail.com.au Australia
Australia's First ACT Consultant (1989)