Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

2008 slowed my computer down

Accepted Solution Solved
New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

2008 slowed my computer down

I upgraded to Act! 2008 and my computer has lowed down a lot.

 

Any suggestions as to how I can correct this?


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author brooks
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 595
Country: USA

Re: 2008 slowed my computer down

Upgraded from which version? What are the computer specs, RAM, hard drive RPM?
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
Techbenders
royel@techbenders.com

View solution in original post


All Replies
Solution
Accepted by topic author brooks
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 595
Country: USA

Re: 2008 slowed my computer down

Upgraded from which version? What are the computer specs, RAM, hard drive RPM?
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
Techbenders
royel@techbenders.com
New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA

Re: 2008 slowed my computer down

I upgraded from V6.0 and wnet htrough the conversion process.  I am using a HP notbook  (Pavilion  dv9000) with 1.6Ghz, 1024MD system memory, 100GB hard drive.  I do not know the drive speed.
New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA

Re: 2008 slowed my computer down

Sorry I marked solved by mistake.
Copper Contributor
Posts: 156
Country: USA

Re: 2008 slowed my computer down

 

brooks wrote:
Sorry I marked solved by mistake.

To change the marked solution, you can go to Options on the upper right of the post you marked as a solution. Then, under Options, choose Unmark as Accepted Solution.

Let me know if you need any assistance.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 595
Country: USA

Re: 2008 slowed my computer down

The drive speed is most likely 5400 RPM though it could be as slow as 4200 RPM. Hard drive speed makes a significant difference in ACT! 2005 and later performance with 7200 RPM pr faster being preferred. You did not specify the operating system so I assume that it is XP, if it is Vista, 1 gig of RAM is minimum. You listed the processor speed but not the make, Intel or AMD. From my experience, the AMD chips don't perform as well running the .NET framework of MSSQL
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
Techbenders
royel@techbenders.com