Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Why upgrade from ACT! 2000 (5.0)?

Why upgrade from ACT! 2000 (5.0)?

Hello,

I joined a small firm financial services firm that is using ACT! 2000 ver. 5.0.  We have 7 users accessing our database, 4 advisors and 3 staff.  I''m not sure how many customizations have been done, but there seems to be a consensus around here that done a fair amount of customization.  I'm new to the office and don't know that much about ACT!, but am the most technical person in the office.  My biggest concern is that we're on an unsupported version.  If we came in tomorrow and found a seriously corrupt database, we might have a lot of trouble.

We are generally happy with ACT!, especially the fast calendaring in the Daily and Weekly Calendar Views.  We are running Windows 2003 Server, Windows XP clients, and Outlook 2007.  I believe we would gain Outlook compatibility with an upgrade, but there seem to be some users that have complained about a serious slowdown in speed.  I'm not so concerned about what fancy features we'll gain with an upgrade.  I'm more concerned with moving to a supported product.  For our purposes I'd prefer to talk about the 2009 version (version 11.0?), not the most recent version that is out or coming out shortly.  I'd prefer to run something that's been around for at least 1 year.  My question's are:

1. What is going to force us to upgrade?  Windows 7?  Something else?  .NET Framework on our clients?  As we buy newer and newer client PCs I'm trying to anticipate a showstopper before we hit one.
  2. What would the licensing and support costs be to upgrade to the latest version?  (I know there will likely be conversion costs too.)
  3. Is the user interface so new that we would effectively feel like we're on a new product?
  4. What would be the likely single biggest hurdle to converting to the laciest version?