Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Its Complicated, at least for me.

Tuned Listener
Posts: 44
Country: United States

Its Complicated, at least for me.

Here's my problem:

 

I have act 2000 on my three year old dell lap top with windows xp.

I use companion link to wi fi contacts to my new iphone 5.

 

I recently bought a new dell widows 7 computer.

Does anyone know the most cost effective version of act that allows me to interchange between all three devices?

 

Thanks in advance,

Greg

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Its Complicated, at least for me.

For official support, you'd need to upgrade to ACT! 2013.
I'd usually recommend Handheld Contact to put the data on the iPhone

Silver Contributor
Posts: 1,813
Country: USA

Re: Its Complicated, at least for me.

with 3 all 3 devices, I'd move to aCT PRO 2013, convert your old act database to 2013.  .  Once that is done, I'd set up sync between your two workstations and then install and configure Handheld contact.  Companionlink still works so if you are already comfortable with that you could go that route.  

 

Here is an article on converting your old ACT to new ACT

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/12355/related/1

 

Here is an article on setting up application sync for ACT pro

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/15192/~/how-to-set-up-application-synchroni...

Test Drive Act! and Quickbooks over Citrix http://GoTryAct.com

Jon Klubnik| ActTrainer.com
(866)710 4228

ACT! Certified Consultant / ACT! Premier Trainer / ACT! Hosting Provider

Tuned Listener
Posts: 44
Country: United States

Re: Its Complicated, at least for me.

Thank You Jon, your help is greatly appreciated.

 

My laptop is three years old and I think it might be 32 bits.

It has act 2000 on it, can I purchase the 2013 act pro upgrade and install it on the laptop?

 

If so, then whould I be able to install the upgrade program on my new 64 bit desk top some how?

Thanks,

Greg

Silver Contributor
Posts: 1,813
Country: USA

Re: Its Complicated, at least for me.

Yes, the program should (emphasize should) work on both machines.

Test Drive Act! and Quickbooks over Citrix http://GoTryAct.com

Jon Klubnik| ActTrainer.com
(866)710 4228

ACT! Certified Consultant / ACT! Premier Trainer / ACT! Hosting Provider

Tuned Listener
Posts: 44
Country: United States

Re: Its Complicated, at least for me.

Jon,

Cool, If I understand correctly,  the upgrade disk will load the new program into my new computer that has no act software in it?

 

This will save some $$$ by not bying having to purchase the entire new program?

Thanks,

Greg

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: Its Complicated, at least for me.

[ Edited ]

Hello Greg,
To clarify, there is not an upgrade version of ACT!. Upgrading is only a factor in pricing. So yes, the 2013 install disk will install the full version on your 64-bit machine. Also, please note that if your new machine has Windows 8, then official support will not be available for that O/S until Service Pack 1 for ACT! 2013 releases in January.

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Silver Contributor
Posts: 1,813
Country: USA

Re: Its Complicated, at least for me.

Greg that's correct an upgrade is a full version however due to changes in the Sage ACT! obsolescence policy, only versions 2011 2012 are currently eligible for upgrade pricing. You need to purchase the new version at the retail price. Hope that helps

Test Drive Act! and Quickbooks over Citrix http://GoTryAct.com

Jon Klubnik| ActTrainer.com
(866)710 4228

ACT! Certified Consultant / ACT! Premier Trainer / ACT! Hosting Provider