Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Database Corruption? Please help me

Database Corruption? Please help me

Hi everyone,

I am a novice when it comes to ACT!. I know not much at all. I started a thread before but wanted to start another one. Maybe to have this thread move in a little bit of a different direction.

I am running ACT 6.02.720. It is on a network between 4 computers. Just to go over the basics of my issue again. To my knowledge all 4 computers OS are Windows XP Professional. I do most of the data input so I receive the most error messages. But the other employees receive it as well sometimes.

ACT seems to be hanging alot. It's in the bottom section of ACT where you insert notes/history, activity, sales, ect.

Most times when I click "new contact" or "contact list" the previous information will hang for a good 5 or 6 seconds while the top section instantly changes

When I insert notes, very often for no reason I will receive a unknown user message and the information I input dissapears. The message will eventually resolve itself and the information will reappear or ACT will receive a fatal message from Microsoft and the program will crash.

I've been noticing alot of information that I have spent alot of time on will for some reason not backup and I have to reinput the information.

Someone mentioned that  I have run into the limitations of the ACT! 6 database structure. To resolve that problem you would need to either purge the older Notes and History or upgrade to the present version of the ACT! program. My company needs all the information that is in ACT. We cannot purge/delete any information. All information is important.

Since being told the update function in ACT! 6.0 went to Symantec servers that are no-longer available.

You can download the current patches from http://www.act.com/support/updates/index.cfm?