Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

ACT 6 users - beware of what won't be the same after upgrading to ACT 2009

ACT 6 users - beware of what won't be the same after upgrading to ACT 2009

[ Edited ]

I have just gone through a very painful learning curve after updating to ACT 2009. I have been using ACT 6 for 6+ years. I won't discuss the 4 techies in the India based support centre and the Atlanta person (very nice and helpful I must add) I had to use to get the installation to work. 

My observations: If you want ACT 2009 to react fast when working with activities... forget it

If you want ACT 2009 to act fast if you have more than 10 activites in a day... forget it

If you want the calendar drop down when scheduling an activity to be readable and/or shown in 15 minute increments... forget it

It appears some of these issues are also carried over to ACT 2010.

My solution... I'm returning to my ACT 6 and eating the cost of the ACT 2009 software - it is useless for my needs. If I ever consider an upgrade again I will review ALL products competing with ACT as their 2009 & 2010 products do not seem to be of enough value when you take away some of the basics I am used to in ACT 6. 

p.s. Another item... previously cleared activities in ACT 6 may magically appear as uncleared in ACT 2009.

Message Edited by yourkard on 12-30-2009 10:18 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: ACT 6 users - beware of what won't be the same after upgrading to ACT 2009

All the performance issue you mention are nearly always related to your system environment.

An ACC in Australia showed me last week an ACT! 2009 system with 200,000 contacts that opened and performed every function faster than ACT! 6  on the small demo database.

[ Edited ]