Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

ACT 2004, 6.0

ACT 2004, 6.0

Forgive my ignorance. I have never used ACT before but need it for a new client base. I purchased the 2004 version

because it was the cheapest (online) I dont have a disk, it was just a direct link. I have downloaded it, but cannot

register it b/c it is out of date.Do I need to have had a previous version to use this or do I need to update it

to the 2010 version? Obviosuly having to use 2010 would defeat the purpose of having bought the 2004 version!

Thanks

Bronze Contributor

Re: ACT 2004, 6.0

Odds are that you've been sold an illegal and re-re-re-re-used license number - kind of like selling the Brooklyn Bridge over and over.  Since they didn't actually have to send you anything like a CD or manual, their costs were zero.  As you've discovered, you've bought a 7+ year old version, that is now 7 versions back.  It's not supported on Windows Vista or Windows 7 and it doesn't support Office 2007.

Does the download link work?  I ask because I don't believe there are any legitimate download sites anymore for such an old version.

Whether or not you need a previous version is somewhat moot at this point.

I would recommend discarding it, and buying ACT! 2010 - the real thing, including a box and DVD, from an online or a brick-and-morter retailer.

Signature

Hello,

Yes I was able to download it. However it asks to be registered which is where the hold

up seems to be.

M

Platinum Elite Contributor