Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

1st Post - Be Kind! Please Help; Attachments Issue.

Copper Contributor

1st Post - Be Kind! Please Help; Attachments Issue.

[ Edited ]

Hi all, This is my 1st post in your wonderful community. I've looked in over the years and been grateful for the tips I've found. I recently made the decision to stick with ACT! v6.0.3.979 (reasons below) for the long term so thought it would be apt to join the forums here. I have come to you needing some help. I'm reasonably adept in making ACT!6 do my bidding but I'm no expert like you guys. I can't seem to fix this particular issue or find a resolution for it. I'm on a stand-alone machine, no networking.

I recently ditched my XP 'puter and got a new super machine with Win7 Pro 64bit and to my absolute delight got ACT!6 working perfectly (well not quite - more in a minute!). I simply took the advice of this forum and used the alternate exe file in the root dir on the installationCD. Worked like a charm - incredible!. I really didn't want to use XP mode if I didn't need to and the community here came through for me again!

I very seriously considered upgrading to ACT 2011, 2012 and more recently 2013. I even installed 2013 and attempted the upgrade. None of my customizations (esp the GUI) came through and I was looking at 100's of hours of work on ACT!6 customizations lost. I stayed with ACT!6 as it was not broken and STILL, after all these years, managed my clients for me as well as it did in 2005!  Now, I love the newest and shinest as much as the next bloke but If it ain't broke . . .

Here's my problem now:

• when I upgraded to Win7 I lost all my ability to access the attachments I had previously used with each client. This is what I'd like to fix right now.