Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

What happens to users records when removing the user?

Copper Contributor
Posts: 52
Country: France

What happens to users records when removing the user?

Hi All, we have a sales rep that has left, so want to remove him as a user.

 

What happens to his entries and history/notes etc? Do they remain (which we want), or do we loose everything?

 

Hoping someone can help.

 

thanks

Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 260
Country: Australia

Re: What happens to users records when removing the user?

Hi there

 

When you delete a user from your database, any records managed by that user will be lost, unless you reassign them to a different user.

This article will walk you through this process.  http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19474/kw/delete%20user

 

Alternatively, if you only wish him to no longer have access to your database you can make his User Inactive.  He wont be able to log in, but it will retain all the records as is.  To do this you will need to be logged in with the Administrator User of ACT.  Under the Tools menu select Manage Users.  (If you are not logged in as Admin User this option will be greyed out)

Select the User you wish to make inactive then click Edit User Information.  Click Next till you get to the Specify Access part of the wizard and select Inactive.  Then press finish.  The user will no longer be able to log into ACT.

 

Hope that helps.

 

Kind regards

 

 

Cherie Buttsworth
ACT! Certified Consultant
Simply PC
cherie@simplypc.com.au
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: What happens to users records when removing the user?

In addition, when deleting a user you are given the option to retain him as a non-user contact in the database. This will keep them as a regular contact with their notes, histories, etc. intact.

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 52
Country: France

Re: What happens to users records when removing the user?

thanks for the info !