Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Accepted Solution

VERY disapointed with ACT 2008-2009

Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 148
Country: United States

Re: VERY disapointed with ACT 2008-2009

Thanks Mike,

 

Over the years I have used your advice and it has been VERY helpful. I wnat to say that I have no connection or relation to unhappyactuser . I did not make my post to SLAM ACT 2008-2009. I just wish someone else did before I upgraded.

 

ACT has made me more efficient and profitable over the years, the new version has made the CRM aspect a challenge.

 

Again,...thanks to Mike and GL for the good advice.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,580
Country: Australia

Re: VERY disapointed with ACT 2008-2009

What sort of hardware are you using? Specifically hard drive speed in RPM and RAM?

What operating system?

How much space have you allocated to Page File in your system?

Single user or LAN?

 

Some of my favourite users are those who started off "slamming" ACT! -I like it when everyone (including Sage support) hasn't been able to resolve issues when they ask me to have a look. It's the challenge that appeals to me :-)

 

Like with any product of it's scale, if you take the time (or invest in a Consultant who specialises in ACT!), to get the product set up correctly at the beginning, you will get a return on that investment

Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 148
Country: United States

Re: VERY disapointed with ACT 2008-2009

Windows XP Pro

Ver 2002

SP 2

 

Intel Pentium M 2.13 GHz, 787MHz,

.99GB RAM

 

44 of 74 GB Free Space

Defraged Monthly

Symantec EndPoint

 

 

 

 

Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 105
Country: USA

Re: VERY disapointed with ACT 2008-2009

If secondary contacts aren't working for you, why don't you create your own secondary contact feature using the custom table ability that was introduced in 10.0.2?  You could add unlimited fields if you did it this way.

 

Edward Kachinske
edward @ is-crm.com
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 148
Country: United States

Re: VERY disapointed with ACT 2008-2009

Ed,

 

   That is a great idea. Being a ACT user for MANY years, I still am very nervous about playing with templates and creating addional fields. I am so worried about hurting my database that I leave that to the proffesionals.

 

  I decided that I need to take the high road and make suggestions to the ACT team for future upgrades. I have brought many people over to ACT in the past and just was surprised that 5 years later, not that many additonal features other than Outlook. I really feel sorry for the Lotus Notes users. Thanks again for the suggestion.

 

 

                           BN

Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Country: United Kingdom

Re: VERY disappointed with ACT 2008-2009

Q1. Secondary contacts have no personal information (birthdays)

A1. Now ACT has a Company Table all contacts that need additional information can go in the Contact Table. The main use of secondary contacts is holding Sec, PA, etc. although you can use it for what you want.

 

Q2. VERY slow loading of this program (must be a memory hog)

A2. ACT now runs on SQL and it needs a good machine to work on, it take the same time to load as other similar CRMs

 

Q3. So much focus on Outlook (maybe I should just be using Outlooks Business Contact Manager Program)

A3. You may not like it but most of the world use Outlook and it was the most requested feature by ACT users.  

 

Q4. Can't send/receive emails from the ACT program unless I open Outlook

A4. Again it is now designed to work directly with outlook so this should not be an issue.

 

Q5. No integrated fax program (yes, I have already used MyFax)

A5. No longer required by most users, email and attachments have made faxes a thing of the past for most people.

 

Q6. ACT customer service (Outsourced to another country)

A6. I don't like that either but it,s the world we live in.

 

Q7. Calendar as no holidays (just a personal thing)

A7. Agree. Add on guys how about a free add-on for this?

 

Q8. No additional layouts (other versions had them)

A8. ACT comes with 2 layouts for each main table and gives you the option of creating more.

 

Q9. User fields (why only 10?, there is room for more)

A9. You can create as many as you want (within reason).

 

Q10. No dramatic improvements since ACT 6.0 (Seriously, for the average user, there are none. I don't need "colored note fonts

A10. Outlook integration, Dynamic Groups, Company Table, Custom Activities, Multi Product Opportunities, Up to 100,000 records, Web Based (ACTforWEB option.) Handshake sync, and on and on. If these are not for you so-be-it but the main ACT user world has wanted more functionality than 6. ACT possibly missed a trick in not keeping ACT 6 as ACT Personal as a low end product which was considered but decided against. I agree that all in the ACT garden is not rosy but as a multi discipline CRM trainer who specialize in ACT the grass is defiantly not greener in many of the competing products.

 

Good luck

 

Chip

 

Independent ACT Support UK

Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 148
Country: United States

Re: VERY disappointed with ACT 2008-2009

Chip,

 

   Thanks for the input. I have calmed down considerably since the conversion. I have hired an ACT Consultant and he has helped me work through some issues with customization and add-ons. Again,..thanks for your comments.

 

 

Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Country: United Kingdom

Re: VERY disappointed with ACT 2008-2009

Hi Brian

 

So pleased that you have found a way ahead with the new ACT. Please do not hesitate to use the new feature request if you have any ideas for improving ACT.

 

All the best

 

Chip

 

Moderator - as we now have a happy Brian could we consider this a resolved issue?

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,580
Country: Australia

Re: VERY disappointed with ACT 2008-2009


@briannydish wrote:

Chip,

 

   Thanks for the input. I have calmed down considerably since the conversion. I have hired an ACT Consultant and he has helped me work through some issues with customization and add-ons. Again,..thanks for your comments.

 

 


Which consultant?

Solution
Accepted by topic author briannydish
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,580
Country: Australia

Re: VERY disappointed with ACT 2008-2009


@Chip wrote:

 

Moderator - as we now have a happy Brian could we consider this a resolved issue?


It's up to the original poster to mark a thread as resolved