Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

New Member
Posts: 10
Country: India

Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

On trying to access my database

the following error comes

The database consuting could not be accessed. In order to check this database, check your netwrok cionnection and verify that your database server is avilable. It may be necessary to disable any firewall software on your computer or server.

 

The act software is located on my laptop.

 

Not even able to access act demo databse.

 

Not being able to access outlook.

The message come Act address book is not properly configured or the configured databse is locked. Do you want to configure now

 

On trying to configure the database. Message act database cannot eb found. Contact system administartor.

 

Please advise

 
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

Most likely, the SQL Server service is not running.  Here is an article with steps to start the service: KB Article 28216

Greg Martin
Sage
Nickel Super Contributor
Posts: 352
Country: Canada

Re: Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

A reboot of your machine should do it too.

 

An easy way to start the service:

 

From the command prompt, enter exactly this:

net start "SQL Server (ACT7)"

then press Enter

 

If SQL fails to start, you may need to reinstall it.

 

Cheers,

Len

Len Kamerman
ACT! Certified Consultant

Act E-mail Marketing Trainining Course:

http://actsoftware.training
New Member
Posts: 10
Country: India

Re: Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

Hello Gerg,

Thank you for your inputs.

I followed the instructions of the article .

 

I was unable to start SQL Server (ACT7  . i got the foll message

 

Windows could not start sql server act 7 on local computer. For more information , review system event log. If this non microsoft service contact service vendor and refer to vendor specific error code 3417

 

Please advise what do I do next.

 

In advice after your ,  i used the command prompt but i got an error

System error 5

 

Please advise

 

Thank you for your time

 

Regards

Sartaj

 
New Member
Posts: 10
Country: India

Re: Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

hello Len,
Thank you for your help. I tried to use command prompt and I got system error 5.
Please advise what do i do next.

Regards
Sartaj
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

System error 5 is generally a permissions issue. Does your Windows Username have Administrator privileges?

Were you able to open the database successfully before?

Have you installed any anti-virus/firewall software recently?
Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 10
Country: India

Re: Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

Hello Greg,

 

My Lap top had two ids admin and on myn name Sartaj.

I was able to log in before. Infact trouble started with outlook not responding and then onde day my laptop crashed. While trouble shooting a message came to change power setting and stop several programs starting at the outset. I do not how I went about this as I am unable to rertrace my steps.

Anyway, since then I am unable to access ACT.

 

I tried to to used commnad login from my admin id

The mesaage came " The SQL Server (ACT7) service could not be started .

A service specific error occured : 3417

More help is available by typing NET HELPMSG 3547

 

I then typed the above

the reult was

A service specific error ocurred:***. 

 

All my softwares are loaded from m y own id.

 

Please advise.

 

Thank you again for your time.

Regards Sartaj

 

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

Assuming standard installation used - check your C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server folder and files to see if they have been compressed. Compressed will show files/folder names in BLUE. If they are blue, they will need to be un-compressed - right click on the file/folder > select Properties > select Advanced > uncheck 'Compress contents to save space' option.
Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 10
Country: India

Re: Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

Hi Greg,

 

I checked the files they were NOT compressed. I checked in both admin and my id.

Please advise.

Regards

Sartaj

 
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Unable to access databace on Sage Act Premium 2011

There is most likely an issue with the SQL installation, which will require a reinstall.  Before doing that, you can test by restarting in Selective Startup and adding exceptions to your anti-virus software:

 

Selective Startup: KB Article 14499

Firewall/Anti-virus: KB Article 25125

 

If those fail:

- if you don't have any other programs on this machine using SQL 2008, uninstall all of it's components and then use the following article to manually reinstall SQL and the ACT7 instance.

- if you have other programs using SQL 2008 and the services for them start successfully, remove only the ACT7 instance and then use the instructions to reinstall the ACT7 instance.

KB Article 26994

Greg Martin
Sage