Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Tracking of leads versus opportunities

Astute Commentator

Tracking of leads versus opportunities

I am new to ACT and we are installing ACT version 10. My question - What is the best way to track "leads" versus "opportunities."

We have inside sales or telemarketers that make cold calls, do mailings, emails etc. Once some one raises their hand to get more information via response, website, referral etc we consider them a "suspect"  until they can be qualified for which product, large enough company ($$$) etc. at this point we consider them a "lead" and inside sales continues to work until the Customer is ready to discuss product (software)  

Once qualified (semi-qualified) they are given to the sales person for follow up and closing. Once they are given to the sales person to talk about the exact needs and further qualification we track through the "Opportunity pipeline" and that works great especially for forecasting.  

We currently use "assigned" to and another field to check off "suspect" versus "leads." Then use Groups to track both inside sales accounts assigned and "suspects" versus real "leads."

Do you have a sugesstion on how to track and get metrics on this activity before we use opportunities?   

Re: Tracking of leads versus opportunities