Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Silent install won't register using si.txt

Silent install won't register using si.txt

Might have had this in the wrong place...

I'm new to ACT! and I'm trying to setup a deployment to multiple machines using the silent install script. The application installs without a problem, but when I open ACT! Premium for the first time I receive the error message I entered during the script creation, i.e., ACT! is not registering or recognizing the license key used in the sn="" section of the si.txt file. I've gone over the file a dozen times and it's the correct serial number. I've read through the KB titled "Cannot register to activate the Act! software" and have tried most of the fixes with the exception of reinstalling the Protexis service as I'm able to go through the normal registration process without a problem. I'm just trying to figure out why ACT! is having a problem applying the license number silently, but not manually.

Administrator

Re: Silent install won't register using si.txt

Hi There,

What version of Act are you trying to silently install?
Did you register the serial number on the machine where Act was first installed and where the script was created?

I'm trying to install ACT! Premium 18.0.501.0. Our license has been used to register a few copies that were manually installed for the initial setup of the database and user accounts. I can't quite remember if the computer I created the silent install script on had been registered or not, but I thought the license number just needed to be registered in general. I'll try installing ACT! clean, register it, and then create the silent install script and let you know how I make out.

Administrator

Sounds good.

For reference, here's the Knowledgebase article that details the silent install process for v17 and later: http://kb.act.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/37611

[ Edited ]

So here are the steps I took: