Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

[SOLVED] Remote database "Could not authenticate" error from some computers and not others

[SOLVED] Remote database "Could not authenticate" error from some computers and not others

[ Edited ]

I've been digging through the forums here for the past several hours and, while there have been several similar issues posted, I haven't found anyone with exactly the same problem as me. Apologies if this question has already been dealt with elsewhere.

I'm fairly new to ACT!--I just started a few weeks ago as the IT guy at a company that previously had no IT, so there's really nowhere for me to turn to ask questions. We're running ACT! 2009 (v.11) with 10 users on a remote database hosted on our fileserver. We're not using Network Sychronization Services, which I'm told is a non-standard setup, but no one can tell me how or why. 

I'm attempting to set up a few new machines with access to the database, and I've followed all the written instructions to the best of my ability--right down to sacrificing a chicken at midnight under the full moon--but no matter what I do I can't get any user to authenticate on any of the new machines. These are all username and password combinations that work fine on all the old machines running the same version of ACT! with the same hotfixes installed, so I know there's gotta' be something obvious I'm missing.

At the risk of a post so long that no one will read it, I'll attempt to walk you quickly through my steps so you can point out my glaring and obvious oversight and send me on my merry way.

1. Installed ACT! 2009 from the disk provided.

2. Ran ACT! in Windows XP SP2 compatibility mode in order to install the hotfix, then turned off compatibility mode again.

3. Followed the written directions given to me outlining how to set up access to the remote database, reproduced below for your reading pleasure: