Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

SA Password

SA Password

I use ODBC to pull data from ACT and I got SA Password utility from act  because there were some columns that I needed to pull through that could only be accessed using this utility.

However, since we have upgraded to premium 2012 these columns no longer pull through any data and i was told that I needed a new SA Password as this is linked to the serial number.

Now I have this, how can I put this into the ODBC so that these columns start pulling through data again??

Sorry, I am fairly new to all this and I'm not too clued up.

Cheers, Justin

Employee

Re: SA Password

Which columns are these? And are you able to see the data in the table in sql management studio? 

Matthew Wood
Act! SDK Support
Community Moderator

Matthew,

thank for your reply.  The one column I especially need is 'DETAILS' from the 'TBL_HISTORY' table.

Sorry, not sure what the sql management studio is I'm afraid.  No data pulls into Microsoft Query if that helps...

MT,

Justin.

Employee

SQL Management Studio is a database management tool, being as you have an administrative login, you can login to the ACT7 instance directly this way and see the data in the tables. You should be able to access that column through the OLEDB or the ODBC without the need for the SA password. Albeit, since it is an rich text field, the formatting comes along with it as well.

Are other columns blank as well, or just the details? You could try following this KB to setup an OLEDB connection to excel and you should be able to see whether the history's your pulling simply have no data in the details column of if there is another issue.

Matthew Wood
Act! SDK Support
Community Moderator

Is the ACT7 instance different to he Act reader tool - sorry to be thick.

Also, this column doesn't seem to be accessible through ODBC withouut SA Password as all other columns populate but not the details one.