Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Rookie Question Premium 2011 Web Access

Accepted Solution Solved
Astute Commentator
Posts: 30
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Rookie Question Premium 2011 Web Access

We have  Premium 2011 installed on 13 desktops. We have 3 users that also have remote access . We would like to set up web access so we can have an offsite sales force. Do we just install premium 20011 for the web on our server and use our existing database? And can we still use our software on the desktops as we do now. 


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author rizzo66
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 205
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Rookie Question Premium 2011 Web Access

Yes - all you need to do is install the web version (and configure it) on your server. There is no need to change the software on the user's workstations. 

 

Trevor Lever

UK - ACT Certified Consultant
www.actpartners.co.uk
trevor@actpartners.co.uk

View solution in original post


All Replies
Solution
Accepted by topic author rizzo66
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 205
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Rookie Question Premium 2011 Web Access

Yes - all you need to do is install the web version (and configure it) on your server. There is no need to change the software on the user's workstations. 

 

Trevor Lever

UK - ACT Certified Consultant
www.actpartners.co.uk
trevor@actpartners.co.uk
Astute Commentator
Posts: 30
Country: USA

Re: Rookie Question Premium 2011 Web Access

Thanks appreciate the quick reply - how many administrators can we have or our act database and software
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 205
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Rookie Question Premium 2011 Web Access

As many as you jave user licences - but probably not a good idea! Smiley Happy

Trevor Lever

UK - ACT Certified Consultant
www.actpartners.co.uk
trevor@actpartners.co.uk
Astute Commentator
Posts: 30
Country: USA

Re: Rookie Question Premium 2011 Web Access

THanks for the quick responses and i agree, but getting a straight answer from our administrator now is difficult
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 514
Country: USA

Re: Rookie Question Premium 2011 Web Access

It's usually a good idea to have at least 2 administrator users in a database.  That way you always have a back door to get in should something happen to the first.

 

Otherwise, you could end up having to pay someone to reset a password just to get admin access to your own data.

 

Clients usually don't like to do that from my experience.

Mark Hammer
ACT! Fanatic