Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Restore db on local pc

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Country: Netherlands
Accepted Solution

Restore db on local pc

Last weeks i have been developing a plugin for act. I was using Act with a local copy of the database (sync disabled). Editted some opportunity fields for extra information. Now I want to add these custom opportunity fields to the server db but without the changes I made. How do I proceed?

 

Delete the local db and get a new copy. change fields and then sync or another way?

 


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author RvdK
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Country: Netherlands

Re: Restore db on local pc

Ok so to sum up:

-Make sure all users sync with main server

-Create DB backup (how about db and personal supplemental files?)

-Change (opportunity)fields on the main db.

-Add contact fields on main db

-Create new remote dbs (how about db supplemental files?)

 

Is it needed to create new remote dbs? Is it not oke just to sync with main server and use the new changed fields?

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Restore db on local pc

Field changes should be made on the Publisher... not a remote copy as per this ACT! Knowledge Base article -

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/cgi-bin/sagesoftwareonline.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1533...

 

You should manually add the fields on the server and roll out fress RDBs

Solution
Accepted by topic author RvdK
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Country: Netherlands

Re: Restore db on local pc

Ok so to sum up:

-Make sure all users sync with main server

-Create DB backup (how about db and personal supplemental files?)

-Change (opportunity)fields on the main db.

-Add contact fields on main db

-Create new remote dbs (how about db supplemental files?)

 

Is it needed to create new remote dbs? Is it not oke just to sync with main server and use the new changed fields?

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Restore db on local pc

That's pretty much what I'd do.

 

Personal Files will still be there - on each user's PC

 

I haven't played with changing Opps fields on a sync db, so easier to roll out new RDBs in case - especially as ACT! 2010 can create up to 50 RDBs at a time.

 

You might also take the time to check all are at Hotfix 3

Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Country: Netherlands

Re: Restore db on local pc

To try out the remote db before every user i want to have a new remote db on my pc. (Mine has test data in it)

What steps should i take (on my laptop) and/or on the server?

 

Sync is disabled currently. In Tools>DB maintenance i can only do unlock/lock

if i enable sync in the Sync panel (with no ethernet connection to be safe), I cannot do much either. Manage DB shows no databases.

 

So how do I delete my copy and put back a fresh one created of the remote db.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Country: Netherlands

Re: Restore db on local pc

[ Edited ]

Ah Just created a new remote copy and restored it on my pc

 

EDIT:

New fields are succesfully completed.

 

One problem arised with changing an user opp field to a date field. When I synched on a remote db the field still showed up as "Opportunity Field 1" instead of my new name. The type did change.

 

Renaming it with a char and then removing the char again on the main server fixed this.

 

There was no need to roll out new remote databases! Thx for the help

Message Edited by RvdK on 11-03-2009 06:11 AM