Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Rename First Name & Last Name

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 73
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Rename First Name & Last Name

Hi,

 

I need to change the "First name" , and "Last Name" field names in Contacts database, but I don't have access to these fields through Tools->Define Fields menu. What should I do?

 

Thank you very much.


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author paymanzafar
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 136
Country: USA

Re: Rename First Name & Last Name

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

That's correct, the Arabic language works from right to left is still a challenge in our Act!Translator.

Don't rename the First Name and Last Name fields in SQL, these fields are used by the system in several areas. 

 

Thanks,
Inge van Gemert
ACT! Certified Consultant
The Netherlands
inge@inkey.net

View solution in original post


All Replies
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 232
Country: Germany

Re: Rename First Name & Last Name

First and last name fields are read only and they can only be modifyed by clicking on the button next to the contact field.

 

the only way to fullfill this task, is to export the data, then to import it again, with changed Contact field.

 

Alternate, you can look at a addon like our Datasuite, there you can define first and last name.

 

in any case, before trying to import, i strongly recomend to have a backup handy, and when making the import with ACT, to check if your history /activitys/notes/opportunity are still associated to the Contact

 

Regards

 

Ingo Lange

ACC since 1995
Developer of Addons for ACT

CrmAddon Factory
+1 203 541 0040
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 73
Country: USA

Re: Rename First Name & Last Name

Hi,

 

I don't want to modify the data in these fields. I want to rename these two database fields, so the column headers in list view display in my local language.

 

Thank you.

Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 232
Country: Germany

Re: Rename First Name & Last Name

Hi,

 

this are system fields that you can not rename.

 

the only way that i see to do this, is to consider a tool like ACT-Translator,

 

You should contact Inge she can probably help you with this issue.

 

regards

 

ingo Lange

ACC since 1995
Developer of Addons for ACT

CrmAddon Factory
+1 203 541 0040
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 73
Country: USA

Re: Rename First Name & Last Name

ACT translator do not support Arabic, and Persian languages.

 

I renamed all the other fields without any problem, but these two filelds are extracted by the software from the contact field, and there is no access to them.

 

Is it possible to rename them directly in SQL server?

Solution
Accepted by topic author paymanzafar
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 136
Country: USA

Re: Rename First Name & Last Name

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

That's correct, the Arabic language works from right to left is still a challenge in our Act!Translator.

Don't rename the First Name and Last Name fields in SQL, these fields are used by the system in several areas. 

 

Thanks,
Inge van Gemert
ACT! Certified Consultant
The Netherlands
inge@inkey.net