Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Remote Database Extract Error

Accepted Solution Solved
New Member
Posts: 27
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Remote Database Extract Error

ACT! by Sage Premium for Workgroups 2007 (9.0) (ST Edition) Version 9.0.0.557

Client: Windows XP

Server: Windows 2003

 

I successfully created a remote database but when I go to extract it I get the following error:

 

"Database and datastore files were not successfully extracted from zip. The specified path, filename, or both are too long. The fully qualified file name must be less than 260 characters, and the directory name must be less than 248 characters."

 

The database was converted from v.6 to v.9 so I'm sure it is related to some of the old attachment paths but I'm not sure what to do about it.

 

Thanks,

 

Dale


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author dalejackson
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: Remote Database Extract Error

Dale,

 

Create a new folder off the root of your hard drive.  Extract the remote database to the folder.  If successful, you can move the database to your desired location.

 

To move the database follow the steps below:

 

  1. Close ACT!
  2. Go to Start > Run.  Type in actdiag and click Ok.
  3. Click Databases, then Database List.
  4. Located the remote database and note the location.
  5. Click the gray box next to the name.  It should highlight the row.
  6. Go to Actions and select detach database and Ok on the prompts.
  7. Close actdiag and browse to the database location.
  8. Move <Database_name>-database files folder along with the ADF and ALF file to your desired location. 
  9. Delete the PAD file .
  10. Open ACT and select open database. Change the file type to ADF and browse to the location you moved the database to.
  11. Open the ADF file and click Ok on the prompts.

 

Ta-da, you've moved your database.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Solution
Accepted by topic author dalejackson
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: Remote Database Extract Error

Dale,

 

Create a new folder off the root of your hard drive.  Extract the remote database to the folder.  If successful, you can move the database to your desired location.

 

To move the database follow the steps below:

 

  1. Close ACT!
  2. Go to Start > Run.  Type in actdiag and click Ok.
  3. Click Databases, then Database List.
  4. Located the remote database and note the location.
  5. Click the gray box next to the name.  It should highlight the row.
  6. Go to Actions and select detach database and Ok on the prompts.
  7. Close actdiag and browse to the database location.
  8. Move <Database_name>-database files folder along with the ADF and ALF file to your desired location. 
  9. Delete the PAD file .
  10. Open ACT and select open database. Change the file type to ADF and browse to the location you moved the database to.
  11. Open the ADF file and click Ok on the prompts.

 

Ta-da, you've moved your database.

New Member
Posts: 27
Country: USA

Re: Remote Database Extract Error

The problem is not with moving a database, it is with the extraction of the  remote database from the rdb file.
Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: Remote Database Extract Error

I know, that's why I suggested creating a new folder off the root of C and extracting the RDB to that folder.  IF it works, you move the database to the whatever folder you want using the steps I wrote out.

 

New Member
Posts: 27
Country: USA

Re: Remote Database Extract Error

Please forgive me. I did not gather that from your message.

 

I extracted to c:\temp with success! Thank you!

 

Dale

Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: Remote Database Extract Error

[ Edited ]

Not a problem, I could of been more clear.  Glad it worked out.

 

 

Message Edited by dlunceford on 08-12-2008 11:21 AM