Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Number of total Databases Question

Number of total Databases Question

Hello everyone, 

I am pretty new to ACT. I am using this for my Commercial Real Estate business. I am wondering what people suggest in respect to the number of Databases is realistic to maintain OR if having just one Database is better...

I have a large database of about 18,000 people for general prospecting. 

I have a smaller database of about 400 people that are more local to me, I met a lot of these people in person, they are industry professionals I know, other agents in my office, etc...This is also the Database that has the Commercial template I purchased as well.

I have another database of about 600 that are potential prospects, but they are from lists I have complied on my own, etc.

What does the community suggest here? Should these all be combined into one? How should I differentiate? Should I use groups?

I am looking for ACT Best practices here. Thank you all for your help in advance!!!!

Employee

Re: Number of total Databases Question

Hi,

From a technical aspect Act! by default uses SQL Express 2014 for its database engine.
Microsoft SQL Server Express is limited to 10 gigabyte of information.

-C

Thanks Carl...I don't anticipate having that much data size wise.

I am just looking for what is best from an organizational stand point?

Platinum Elite Contributor

Unless you have a specific need such as a business database and an separate database for an organization you're a member of (for example I'm the treasurer of our HOA and have a separate database for that), use a single database.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129