Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Newbie question regarding "Companies" content

New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA

Newbie question regarding "Companies" content

[ Edited ]
Greetings,

Environment: ACT! by Sage Premium for Workgroups 2006 Version 8.0.2.82

Server Info: PowerSpec Intel® Pentium® 4
2.41GHz CPU
2.00 GB RAM 3.07 GB SWAP

Operating System: Microsoft Windows Server 2003 for Small Business Server Service Pack 2

Disclaimer: I am attempting getting more familiar with ACT! to make use of the robustness of the product, and am no specialist of the product by any stretch of the imagination Smiley Happy

Our "Contacts" list currently, when I click on the "Companies" icon in the left side menu, lists only two.

I created a "Company" in the "Conpany Contacts" screen manually, hence my question "Shouldn't these all be automatically generated?"

Is there something glaringly obvious that would read all the Company entries in Contacts List and magically populate the "Companies"?

All pointers to the solution are welcome. Even if it's RTFM Smiley Wink

Thanks a bunch!

Message Edited by erynrachell on 04-02-2008 12:04 PM

Message Edited by erynrachell on 04-02-2008 12:05 PM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Newbie question regarding "Companies" content



erynrachell wrote:
I created a "Company" in the "Conpany Contacts" screen manually, hence my question "Shouldn't these all be automatically generated?"

Is there something glaringly obvious that would read all the Company entries in Contacts List and magically populate the "Companies"?

No, unfortunately they are not created automatically... although there are some addons that can do this for you
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 72
Country: USA

Re: Newbie question regarding "Companies" content

Importing information into Act can be done for Contacts, Groups, or Companies.

Wouldn't it be possible to export a list of the all the contacts into Excel, consolidate the companies so that each name is represented only once, and then import the list on Company Records?

(I've never imported anything other than Contacts, so not sure how the Group or Company aspect works.)
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Newbie question regarding "Companies" content

While this would create the Companies, it wouldn't link the Contacts to them.