Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

New fields won't appear in database

Tuned Listener
Posts: 43
Country: Denmark

New fields won't appear in database

Hi everyone. 

 

As the headline indicates I have added a number of new fields to ACT (contact part). 

 

But they will not show up in my database. When i access the database they are not placed under the dbo_TBL_contact as they should!

 

I haven't got a clue what to do! I have never experienced problems with this before. 

 

Thanks for the help.

 

Best regards

 

Andreas 

Silver Contributor
Posts: 1,813
Country: USA

Re: New fields won't appear in database

Can you give a little more database.  When you say not in the database, how are you verifying this? You should be able to confirm the fields are added if you can add them to the layout or see them from tools define fields.

 

It sounds like you are trying to access the database from another tool, like Crystal Reports, if this is the case, then ACT will create spill over tables once the first table is full.

 

Here is a good test.  Open ACTDIAG (Start, run, ACT Diag, go to the databases menu or tab.

 

Find your database in the list and right click and choose database reports, Database Structure and database fields to csv.

 

This will open you fields in excel and you can verify that the fields were added and exactly to which table they have been added.

Test Drive Act! and Quickbooks over Citrix http://GoTryAct.com

Jon Klubnik| ActTrainer.com
(866)710 4228

ACT! Certified Consultant / ACT! Premier Trainer / ACT! Hosting Provider

Tuned Listener
Posts: 43
Country: Denmark

Re: New fields won't appear in database

I am using Microsoft access and have an ODBC connection established via ACTREADER (if I remember right ). 

 

I am concluding that some fields are missing since they doesnt appear in the relevent table. But is there a maximum number of custom fields you can make, because that would probably explain it?

 

But i will try what you have suggested when I return to work again. I am familiar wit ACTDIAG (have used it for resetting sync and other stuff). 

Silver Contributor
Posts: 1,813
Country: USA

Re: New fields won't appear in database

Reallyl no limit on the number for fields. I think the steps I gave you will make things clearer.  We have seen databases with upwards of 1000 fields.

Test Drive Act! and Quickbooks over Citrix http://GoTryAct.com

Jon Klubnik| ActTrainer.com
(866)710 4228

ACT! Certified Consultant / ACT! Premier Trainer / ACT! Hosting Provider

Tuned Listener
Posts: 43
Country: Denmark

Re: New fields won't appear in database

I looked in the ACTDIAG and can see that the fields are not added to the rigth table - in fact it does not add them to any table at all, which i find a bit strange.

 

I have pasted the relevant from the csv-file, and as you can see the first two fields are stored in the right way, but after that it does not assign them to any table?  

 

Contact,"TBL_CONTACT","Contact","CUST_Satisfaction2013_090746824","Satisfaction2013","Satisfaction2013","","","101","Character","NVARCHAR","1","1","0","","0","0","1","1","50","","FULL ACCESS","","","None://","None://","None://",""

Contact,"TBL_CONTACT","Contact","CUST_Satisfaction2014_090828876","Satisfaction2014","Satisfaction2014","","","102","Character","NVARCHAR","1","1","0","","0","0","1","1","50","","FULL ACCESS","","","None://","None://","None://",""

Contact,"CUST_ContactTable1_051326","Contact Table 1","CUST_Satisfaction2015_090840709","Satisfaction2015","Satisfaction2015","","","12","Character","NVARCHAR","1","1","0","","0","0","1","1","50","","FULL ACCESS","","","None://","None://","None://",""
Contact,"CUST_ContactTable1_051326","Contact Table 1","CUST_Satisfaction2016_090851072","Satisfaction2016","Satisfaction2016","","","13","Character","NVARCHAR","1","1","0","","0","0","1","1","50","","FULL ACCESS","","","None://","None://","None://",""
Contact,"CUST_ContactTable1_051326","Contact Table 1","CUST_Satisfaction2017_090900028","Satisfaction2017","Satisfaction2017","","","14","Character","NVARCHAR","1","1","0","","0","0","1","1","50","","FULL ACCESS","","","None://","None://","None://",""
Contact,"CUST_ContactTable1_051326","Contact Table 1","CUST_Satisfaction2018_090910625","Satisfaction2018","Satisfaction2018","","","15","Character","NVARCHAR","1","1","0","","0","0","1","1","50","","FULL ACCESS","","","None://","None://","None://",""
Contact,"CUST_ContactTable1_051326","Contact Table 1","CUST_Satisfaction2019_090920439","Satisfaction2019","Satisfaction2019","","","16","Character","NVARCHAR","1","1","0","","0","0","1","1","50","","FULL ACCESS","","","None://","None://","None://",""
Contact,"CUST_ContactTable1_051326","Contact Table 1","CUST_Satisfaction2020_090954087","Satisfaction2020","Satisfaction2020","","","17","Character","NVARCHAR","1","1","0","","0","0","1","1","50","","FULL ACCESS","","","None://","None://","None://",""
Silver Contributor
Posts: 1,813
Country: USA

Re: New fields won't appear in database

The other fields have been added to a spill over table "Contact Table 1"  look for that one in your reporting program.  You can link it to the main Contact Table witht he contact ID FIeld

Test Drive Act! and Quickbooks over Citrix http://GoTryAct.com

Jon Klubnik| ActTrainer.com
(866)710 4228

ACT! Certified Consultant / ACT! Premier Trainer / ACT! Hosting Provider

Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,231
Country: USA

Re: New fields won't appear in database

If you access the database using the ACTOLEDB reader you will see all your fields under one table. The ACTOLEDB reader is a wrapper around the actually table schema ( It pulls spill over tables back together)

 

The ACTOLEDB reader is dynamic and does some heavy lifting for you, where the ACT reader does not.

 

Hope this helps

-- Jim Durkin

Tuned Listener
Posts: 43
Country: Denmark

Re: New fields won't appear in database

I can't locate the "Contact Table 1"? Any ideas to how to locate it?

 

Andreas.