Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

New User-- Some Questions Re: Importing New Data

New User-- Some Questions Re: Importing New Data

Hi.  I have no prior experience with ACT, but I have used Goldmine (allbeit 8-10 years ago).  I have a new job in a small office and am taking over the daily ACT (Premium 10.0) operations.  We have outside IT support when needed, but for the most part I will be responsible for trouble shooting any problems and figuring out how to do everything we need.  If given baby steps, I'm a pretty quick study.

My first order of business is to start adding a ton of new prospects into the database.  I have about 1000 contacts in an excel spreadsheet that I would like to add.  I will probably be ready to add about 1000/week or so, at least that is my goal.  Is there a way for me to create a blank copy of the existing database, import my info into there, make sure everything is good to go, then eventually import that into the real database?  I thought I had found directions for this online, but maybe it is an older version... when I try to do it (File|Save As|Create Empty Copy| I get a message about the current database is a non-local database.  Only local databases can be copied.

If I discover there are fields missing that I would like such as the source where the contact came from (i.e. D&B) is there a way to add it to both databases?

Thanks for the help.

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: New User-- Some Questions Re: Importing New Data

You can only create a new database on your local machine and only copy from one that it local... so you'd need to do this on the server.

If you are going to do a lot of imports, especially where some of the contacts might already be there and you want to update specific fields, the best way is to use itImport

Thank you for your quick reply.

Do you reccomend doing the blank database method?  Is that a needed/necesarry step?