Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

New To ACT - some questions

Copper Contributor

New To ACT - some questions

Hi All,

I have been researching ACT for a couple months now and am in preparing for the deployment of ACT 2010 Premium but have some questions.

First, I have over 15,000 records I will be importing from another contact management program. These contacts all have histories including follow up dates. The program being used now allows each salesperson, when logging in, to get a list of thier callbacks. How do I make sure when I import that each salesperson is still able to see thier callbacks? Is the Record Manager in essence the Salesperson? The reason I ask is because normally the Salespeople do not enter thier contacts, someone else does. And it looks like whoever creates the contact is the Record Manager. I can easily change the Record Manager at that time if I am the one entering the data, however, changing 15,000 one at a time would be a little cumbersome.

Second, if I map the Salesperson to the Record Manager can I also have the imported contacts set with a limited access for that particular salesperson and the Managers group?

Also, since all of our contacts are with "companies" do I have to create a Company first then add the contacts? If so, how is this handled when importing?

Unfortunately the help guides aren't really helpful so I apologize in advance for all the questions. I want to try and make this import process as seamless as possible.

Thank You

Linda

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: New To ACT - some questions

Unfortunately, ACT! can't import the callbacks (history). For that, you need an add-on such as itImport

itImport can also automatically create the companies for you during the import and link the contacts

Copper Contributor