Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

New Administrator! Need help

New Administrator! Need help

[ Edited ]

Hi All! I am an IT Admin and we just took over a company that is using this program. I know absolutely nothing about it! I have been scouring the documentation and reading all I can.  They don't have anyone there that installed this anymore so I can't ask them any questions.  

I do have a few questions though. So currently we only have 5 users. 2 of them are using the web client. However, we are putting the program on a server in our domain network so we are thinking that the users that currently use the web version (remote agents) can just connect to the DB via the VPN that they all already have and not create the web server at all.  Would there be any reason I wouldn't want to do that?  Anyone have experience connecting to the DB via VPN?

So as I familiarize myself with the program I wanted to install and do some testing before I do the actual move.  I cannot find anything clear that tells me the difference between a move and a backup/restore.  It looks like the move locks the DB so that noone can access it until it is moved to the new machine.  Is that correct?  Would I be able to just do a back up and have the new version of act look at that file so I can test it before I do the actual move?

Also what is a publisher DB?  What is a subscriber?  I cannot find if this current DB that they are using is a publisher or not - nor can I find what that really means!  

Thanks for your time!!

We are on version 17.0.151.0

It is currently installed on Server 2008R2 and it will be moving to Server 2012

I dont see that the DB is shared??  But I am not sure how it is working if it isn't?  All 5 clients are accessing the same DB.  I just dont see the share button next to this particular DB.