Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Memo field

Accepted Solution Solved
New Member
Posts: 9
Country: Belgium
Accepted Solution

Memo field

Hi all,

 

I need to add a Memo field to a company layout but this doesn't behave as I would like it.

When I Enter at the end of a line of text, the cursor goes to the end od the Company field iso just going to the next line of text within the memo field. How can I solve this ?

 

Regards,

Marleen

 


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by dlunceford (Moderator)
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: Memo field

[ Edited ]

You can enter in memo fields, but you will need remove enter stops from the layout or as a Roy suggested, press Ctrl+Enter.

 

- Go to Tools > Design Layouts > Contact

- View > Enter Stops > Clear

- Save as new name for testing.

 

Message Edited by dlunceford on 11-25-2008 12:07 PM

View solution in original post


All Replies
Avid Listener
Posts: 33
Country: United States

Re: Memo field

This is a feature I ALSO wish for.  But unfortunately, you cannot use ENTER in a MEMO field.  It will text wrap (unlike a text field), but you cannot use Enter, Ctrl-Enter, or anything else that I know of to force a carriage return. 

 

I've resorted to putting in a bunch of SPACES to get the text to go to the next line, which is a BOGUS workaround!

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,669
Country: USA

Re: Memo field

I just tested a memo field in ACT! 2008 and Ctrl + Enter starts a new line.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
New Member
Posts: 9
Country: Belgium

Re: Memo field

It does, as do Enter and Shift-Enter, but the cursor still jumps to the Company field.

 

Marleen

Solution
Accepted by dlunceford (Moderator)
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: Memo field

[ Edited ]

You can enter in memo fields, but you will need remove enter stops from the layout or as a Roy suggested, press Ctrl+Enter.

 

- Go to Tools > Design Layouts > Contact

- View > Enter Stops > Clear

- Save as new name for testing.

 

Message Edited by dlunceford on 11-25-2008 12:07 PM
New Member
Posts: 9
Country: Belgium

Re: Memo field

Sorry, I forgot to mention that I'm using Act! 2007 (9.0)

 

Marleen

Avid Listener
Posts: 33
Country: United States

Re: Memo field

BRILLIANT!!  I guess I haven't tried this for a while . . . I'm PSYCHED!

 

Also, remember that if you convert a text field to a MEMO field, you HAVE to go into Layout Editor, DELETE the field, and use the MEMO Field tool to re-add it.  If you don't delete the text field, you won't be able to add it as a Memo field.

New Member
Posts: 9
Country: Belgium

Re: Memo field

Great ! It works !

 

Thanks a million !

 

Kind regards,

Marleen