Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Issue with Act reverting to itself as the word processor when it should be MS Word

Accepted Solution Solved
Highlighted
Astute Commentator
Posts: 50
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Issue with Act reverting to itself as the word processor when it should be MS Word

We have one user who encountered the error message below:

 

282 Act error message.JPG

 

Our file share where we store all of our Act templates was only showing the Act template files, and not the MS Word template files.  

 

We then discovered that Act had switched itself back to using itself as the default Word processor instead of Microsoft Word.  

 

282 Act Default Word Processor.PNG

 

Has anyone else experienced this?  Is this a known problem with a known solution?  

 

Thank you.

 

 

 

 

- Version of Act! you are using:

On Windows 10 workstations:  Act Premium 21.1.187.0 , Update 4

On Windows 2016 Server:  Act Premium Web 21.1.187.0 , Update 4

 

- If the issue involves Microsoft Office (Outlook, Word , Excel), state the version of Office you are using

Office 2016

 

- Is your database on your local machine (private database) or is it being shared from a server (shared database)?

Shared from a server.

 

- Operating system you have Act! installed on (i.e., Windows 7, Windows 8)

Windows 10 on the workstations.  Windows Server 2016 on the Act server.


Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Solution
Accepted by topic author Bfoster
‎02-28-2020 10:08 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Country: USA

Re: Issue with Act reverting to itself as the word processor when it should be MS Word

Bfoster,

 

Yes, you would have to install Act! again once your MS office install has taken place.  The Act! Outlook add-in's integration gets built during the Act! install process.  I have only seen problems with integration when installing Act! before Outlook gets installed.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Highlighted
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 557
Country: Germany

Re: Issue with Act reverting to itself as the word processor when it should be MS Word

ACT automatically "reverts" the Word processor setting from "Word" to "ACTWP" anytime you open your ACT! database on a machine that has no Office installed, typically your ACT!-DB-Server...
This behaviour is annoying and can't be changed. Try to file this as a bug; I have given up in trying to get SPI to accept things like this as bugs.
Workaround: When leaving the server, before closing ACT!, switch the parameter back manually and click "update" and then close ACT!.
Andreas Schlesselmann
Melville-Schellmann GbR
Germany
www.melville-schellmann.de
Highlighted
Astute Commentator
Posts: 50
Country: USA

Re: Issue with Act reverting to itself as the word processor when it should be MS Word

Thanks for replying, and for the info.  Unfortunately in this case this was not our Act server which does not have Office, but a standard workstation with Office 2016 installed on it which has behaved fine for a few months now.  It's a relatively new computer.  It's almost as if Act stopped 'seeing' Office?  

 

Highlighted
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 557
Country: Germany

Re: Issue with Act reverting to itself as the word processor when it should be MS Word

Experiencing any other issues with the Office integration on that workstation? Seems unlikely....
Andreas Schlesselmann
Melville-Schellmann GbR
Germany
www.melville-schellmann.de
Highlighted
Astute Commentator
Posts: 50
Country: USA

Re: Issue with Act reverting to itself as the word processor when it should be MS Word

As an organization we have had a lot of struggles between Act and Office, especially when we were on Office 2013.  Luckily we are now mostly on Office 2016 and have not had to do the registry hack required for 2013.  My current annoyance is Office not wanting to load the Act add-in because of slow loading, and having to 'force-allow' for 30 days.

 

 

Highlighted
Astute Commentator
Posts: 50
Country: USA

Re: Issue with Act reverting to itself as the word processor when it should be MS Word

Thank you very much for the information.  I have heard that MS Office must be installed BEFORE Act is installed, but would re-installing Office mean that I also need to re-install Act afterward?  

Highlighted
Solution
Accepted by topic author Bfoster
‎02-28-2020 10:08 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Country: USA

Re: Issue with Act reverting to itself as the word processor when it should be MS Word

Bfoster,

 

Yes, you would have to install Act! again once your MS office install has taken place.  The Act! Outlook add-in's integration gets built during the Act! install process.  I have only seen problems with integration when installing Act! before Outlook gets installed.