Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

How to View: Only the Contacts You Entered. Hide the Shared Contacts

Accepted Solution Solved
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

How to View: Only the Contacts You Entered. Hide the Shared Contacts

In a ACT Premium environment, dozens of users are sharing thousands of records in a single database. One of the user does not want to see all the shared data. They want to see only the records they entered their own self. Doing searches on this, doesn't give any instructions on changing settings, etc. How can this be done?

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author Globalzebra
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 72
Country: USA

Re: How to View: Only the Contacts You Entered. Hide the Shared Contacts


Globalzebra wrote:
In a ACT Premium environment, dozens of users are sharing thousands of records in a single database. One of the user does not want to see all the shared data. They want to see only the records they entered their own self. Doing searches on this, doesn't give any instructions on changing settings, etc. How can this be done?

The best way to do this is to create a group and then do a lookup from there.  When you created the group, go to Add/Remove Contacts... and then there will be a window with a button that says "Edit Criteria..."  Under Field Name, select Record Creator, then under Operator select "Equal To" and for Value, enter the user's name.

 

The group will auto-populate based on the information and will always be up to date. 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Solution
Accepted by topic author Globalzebra
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 72
Country: USA

Re: How to View: Only the Contacts You Entered. Hide the Shared Contacts


Globalzebra wrote:
In a ACT Premium environment, dozens of users are sharing thousands of records in a single database. One of the user does not want to see all the shared data. They want to see only the records they entered their own self. Doing searches on this, doesn't give any instructions on changing settings, etc. How can this be done?

The best way to do this is to create a group and then do a lookup from there.  When you created the group, go to Add/Remove Contacts... and then there will be a window with a button that says "Edit Criteria..."  Under Field Name, select Record Creator, then under Operator select "Equal To" and for Value, enter the user's name.

 

The group will auto-populate based on the information and will always be up to date. 

New Member
Posts: 6
Country: USA

Re: How to View: Only the Contacts You Entered. Hide the Shared Contacts

Thanks pardner, that worked Smiley Very Happy
Copper Contributor
Posts: 64
Country: USA

Re: How to View: Only the Contacts You Entered. Hide the Shared Contacts

Is it possible to have Act! open to a specific group rather than all groups?

Employee
Posts: 18
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: How to View: Only the Contacts You Entered. Hide the Shared Contacts

[ Edited ]

mjmcpe wrote:

Is it possible to have Act! open to a specific group rather than all groups?


 

You can change your Startup View (Tools/Preferences/Startup tab) to Group Detail, but it will always open the first group. If that's not the one you want, you could rename the specific group so it will always be the first in your list.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 64
Country: USA

Re: How to View: Only the Contacts You Entered. Hide the Shared Contacts

But the group names have to be consistent across all user, correct? So User A could not call the group of his contacts 1 - User A, and User B label his 1 - User B, because then he will still appear below 1 - User A?

Employee
Posts: 18
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: How to View: Only the Contacts You Entered. Hide the Shared Contacts


   mjmcpe wrote:

 

But the group names have to be consistent across all user, correct? So User A could not call the group of his contacts 1 - User A, and User B label his 1 - User B, because then he will still appear below 1 - User A?


Yes, the group names are consistent across all users, but as you said that only "One of the users does not want to see all the shared data" I assumed you only needed one group to be renamed for that user.

If you need to do it for multiple users, I would suggest to rename all the user groups so they are at the top of the list and then choose "Group List" as your startup view for everyone apart from the user of the first group. That user can still have "Group Detail" as startup, while the others can get into their groups with just one click.

Nickel Super Contributor
Posts: 843
Country: United States

Re: How to View: Only the Contacts You Entered. Hide the Shared Contacts

Another option is that each user makes his group (not the contacts) private.  That way you will only see your own.

Rita Kogstad
RKA Associates
Stamford, CT