Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Help -- Problem switching laptops and databases

Accepted Solution Solved
Loyal Listener
Posts: 52
Country: Canada
Accepted Solution

Help -- Problem switching laptops and databases

My name is Glen and I have been an ACT user since Act 3.0 and I have messaged
you before and I am looking for direction to move my database details from
one laptop to another.

 

I am no longer in sales on the road selling and had to turn in my company laptop
so I copied all my ACT databases and now I am loading them onto my own laptop
which I had used before. Any databases I created in the last year I have removed
from the company laptop and loaded them in my personal laptop which also had
ACT 2013 loaded before I received the newer company one.

 

I can’t open the databases I have created on the newer laptop over the past year
so I am looking for where I can find the way to add them back on my older laptop.

 

Note – the newer laptop is running Windows 7 and I am still on windows XP but
ACT 2013 and my older databases are fine but can’t load the more recent ones
because of the different laptop name. I need to know where I can find the steps
I need to do to make the newer databases work on a different laptop again.

 

I have deleted the databases from my newer laptop because it has been given to
another rep and they don’t use ACT like I do as they are using Sales Force now
and it is my copy not the companies .

 

Please let me know where I can go to find steps to change this and make my
databases work on my older laptop again.

 

The message I get is this :

 

The “GLEN-2013” computer could not be reached because the port “1434” may be blocked. Opening the port or reconfiguring your firewall settings may resolve this issue.

 

Hope you can put me in the right direction to resolve this.

 

Thanks.

 

Glen Ueberschlag.

This Product is licensed to: Glen Ueberschlag

Sowa Tool & Machine Co. Ltd.

Serial Number: VDAB9-AWJ4S-KKEG2-N6WN2

Number of Licenses: 1


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by Elise (Moderator)
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,662
Country: USA

Re: Help -- Problem switching laptops and databases

Did you make backups of the databases in ACT! to move them or did you try copying files? If you just copied the files, did you stop the SQL server before copying the files? If you copied the files and didn't stop the SQL server first, you didn't copy the actual database files. If you did stop the SQL server before doing the copy then try opening the database with the ADF option rather than the PAD option.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129

View solution in original post


All Replies
Solution
Accepted by Elise (Moderator)
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,662
Country: USA

Re: Help -- Problem switching laptops and databases

Did you make backups of the databases in ACT! to move them or did you try copying files? If you just copied the files, did you stop the SQL server before copying the files? If you copied the files and didn't stop the SQL server first, you didn't copy the actual database files. If you did stop the SQL server before doing the copy then try opening the database with the ADF option rather than the PAD option.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Loyal Listener
Posts: 52
Country: Canada

Re: Help -- Problem switching laptops and databases

Thanks, I did the ADF and it has worked, many thanks,

 

Glen