Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

Highlighted
Tuned Listener
Posts: 10
Country: Germany

Re: Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

Ah ok,

 

the nickname is misleading. We are part of the “it crowd” of our company (taking care of the windows network). Our reseller is Melville -Schellmann, very tough guys…

 

Greetz from Bavaria,
Moritz
Highlighted
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,765
Country: Australia

Re: Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

I don't know Melville-Schellmann - are they ACT! Certified Consultants or just IT resellers?
Highlighted
Tuned Listener
Posts: 10
Country: Germany

Re: Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

Yes,

they are ACT! Certified Consultants.

 

Right now I m trying to raise the memory up to 2 GB RAM (and more) to see if the amount of memory affects the .net error quantity.

 

Simultaneously i keep on contacting the Act! support.

 

I will report my results here...
Highlighted
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,765
Country: Australia

Re: Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

Have you tried doing a full clean reinstall?

 

This is a procedure I wrote to get the most clean install possible:
Uninstall any version of ACT! from Windows Control Panel | Add/Remove Programs
Use the Uninstaller.exe from the ACT! KB 19338 (the exe, not the manual uninstall)
Uninstall .Net Framework (all versions) - this does NOT apply to Vista users as .Net 2.0 is part of the OS and can't be uninstalled
Perform a Selective restart with MSCONFIG as per ACT! KB 14499
Install .Net 2.0 Framework (only 2.0 for ACT! 9/10/11) as per KB 19628 (only XP, not Vista)
Install ACT! 9.0 full install
Install latest patch and/or hotfix
Restore from Selective Startup Mode with MSCONFIG
Reboot

Takes time, but will give the cleanest and most stable install.

For the KB numbers, go here http://tinyurl.com/34xq94 - put the number in "Search Text" and change "Search By" to Answer ID

Highlighted
Tuned Listener
Posts: 10
Country: Germany

Re: Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

[ Edited ]

 

 

Thank you Mike for your tip (and your effort), at the next opportunity I will try this variant of reinstall, to leave nothing undone.

But I think there is no room for hope solving this problem via reinstall. Because I installed some of the Clients (5 or more) completely new, with only OS, Drivers (plus the .net from the ACT! CD), Office and ACT! to exclude that any other software disturbs the ACT! installation.

Yesterday, after many calls and E-Mails I got a E-Mail answer from the Act! Support.

“Is the error the same on XP machines as Win 2000?”  Isn’t that annoying? Three weeks ago I sent a detailed description of the malfunction to the German support, and that is the only answer so far. It seems to me they are moving the heaven on earth to find a solution… Now they put me off a few days,  but I m trying to keep at it.

 

Regards,

Moritz

 

 

EDIT:

 

For information:

Raising up memory to 2 GB didn't affect the quantity of the  problem, same error. A user with raised memory just phoned me...

 

 

 

 

 

Message Edited by act_user on 10-16-2008 02:34 AM
Highlighted
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,765
Country: Australia

Re: Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

Highlighted
Tuned Listener
Posts: 10
Country: Germany

Re: Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

Hello,

 

now finally we have got an information from the act-support. The German act-support contacted the USA support team and they took a look at the problem. Bad news, they said the problem is the ACT-.NET-MS-Office interaction and it is not possible to solve the problem. There would –never- be a hotfix or patch.

 

So at all  -> Act! 9 Premium is definitely NOT compatible with Outlook 2000.

 

Thank you all for your time, effort and all the helpful tips!

 

Special thanks to Mike for your patience!

 

Moritz

 

Highlighted
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,765
Country: Australia

Re: Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

You know... I really should check the sys requirements when helping with old versions.

 

Interesting that is says Office 2000, but Outlook 2002 in this ACT! Knowledge Base article - http://tinyurl.com/6xv2sw

Highlighted
Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

ACT! 2007 (9.0) IS compatible with Office 2000/2002/2003.

 

Who did you speak to from support?

Highlighted
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,765
Country: Australia

Re: Has anyone experienced .NET Runtime 2.0 Errors...

David, I thought the same before I read the Sys Requirement doc I posted above :-)

 

Yeah... looking back it was ACT! 2008 that dropped O2000 support