Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Error during remote database creation

New Member
Posts: 8
Country: France

Error during remote database creation

Hi,

 

Here is my technical environment (Virtual machine on VMWare workstation 7.1.4 build-385536) :

- W2008 SP2

- Sage ACT! Premium 2011 Version 13.1.111.0, Hot Fix 4 French

- Outlook & office 2010 32 bits

- SQL server 2008 standard 32 bits

 

I decided to test the synchronization functionality on demo database.

So, I've :

- activated the synchronization

- created a user "A" with "A" as password, standard role

- created a sync set with a basic filter (all contact with name beginning by M)

- selected the "A" user as to create the remote database

- set the remote database target folder with full control to everyone

 

And...when the creating database process is running, at the "create remoteobject step in A database', I've got the following  error message : "String or binary data would be truncated." and the database is not created...

 

Right, but how to troubleshoot that ?

 

I've looked at forum and found following articles :

 

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13563/kw/%22string%20or%20binary%20data%20w...

But I did not change anything in the Demo database...

 

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14787/kw/%22string%20or%20binary%20data%20w...

But My user name is "A"...

 

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/22043/kw/%22string%20or%20binary%20data%20w...

But my user name is one caracter lenght and my version is 13...

 

I tried ACTDiag tool, repair, checks, nothing abnormal...

 

I'm really stuck.

 

If someone has an idea or can tell in which logs I can look at, I will very,very appreciate...

 

Thanks in advanced.

 

 

Bronze Contributor
Posts: 955
Country: Australia

Re: Error during remote database creation

Try Right click on ACT icon and select "Run as Administrator" should resolve

Paul Buchtmann
pbuchtmann@ozemail.com.au Australia
Australia's First ACT Consultant (1989)

FREE Record History to change default to Call or To-Do for ACT! 2010-2012 versions. Custom versions also available.
New Member
Posts: 8
Country: France

Re: Error during remote database creation

Hi Paul,

 

I tried as you said, but same error message...

 

Thanks a lot.

 

 

Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 336
Country: USA

Re: Error during remote database creation

Is the folder you are creating the remote database in on the VM or another network location...need to create the database locally.

Kris Lock
Inside Sales Manager/ACT! Certified Consultant
Technology Transfer Services
www.techtransfer.com
www.myodesie.com
New Member
Posts: 8
Country: France

Re: Error during remote database creation

Hi Kris,

 

the folder is located on the c: drive root of the VM and I gave full control to everyone...I did not create a share, but I will try...

 

Is the server must be in a Microsoft domain with a DC ?

 

Best regards.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: Error during remote database creation

In the Publisher database, go to Help > About ACT!. Then click the Database Information button. This runs a background script which may possibly resolve the issue. When the info comes up, close the Help screen and attempt to create the remote.

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Nickel Contributor
Posts: 173
Country: Australia

Re: Error during remote database creation

Change your username to something other than A and make it 5 characters long. This is an issue with an Invalid character or to short/long username. I would suspect A is a either a special character or simply to short.
Travis Rosevear ACC for
Act Today Australia and New Zealand
New Member
Posts: 8
Country: France

Re: Error during remote database creation

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

I displayed the database info window through the Help menu and I tried create my remote database but the error is still there...

 

Thank for your tip.

 

Best regards.

New Member
Posts: 8
Country: France

Re: Error during remote database creation

I created a new user "Salesperson1", gave him administrator role and verified that user was able to open the demo database.

 

I created a new sync just for him, but same error message.

 

So I decided to install ACT! on Windows 7 x86 enterprise, tried the same test ( open demo DB, create user, activate sync, define a sync set and run the remote DB creation process) and I got same error message...

 

So the issue did not come from OS...I'm still looking for the root cause...

 

Thanks for your help.

 

Best regards.

Bronze Contributor
Posts: 955
Country: Australia

Re: Error during remote database creation

I have seen this previously make sure you right click and "Run As Administrator" to open ACT or activate the administrator machine account and try it with this account then you might be able to determine it is a UAC problem on that machine.

Paul Buchtmann
pbuchtmann@ozemail.com.au Australia
Australia's First ACT Consultant (1989)

FREE Record History to change default to Call or To-Do for ACT! 2010-2012 versions. Custom versions also available.