02-25-2009 12:18 PM
Frequently when our users are changing information using edit/replace we are getting some unexpected results.
After editing and replacing information and scrolling through the accounts the company name field is changed. Sometimes all of the company name's are changed to one name, but sometimes a few will be changed to one name and others are changed to different names.
This is the process:
Add text to Sort Field 1 for the contacts needing to be edited.
Perform a lookup based on the text entered in Sort Field 1
Edit and Replace data, (usually for more than one field), but never on the company name
After edit/replace run the lookup again based on Sort Field 1
When scrolling through the names we will notice that some of the company names have changed as if we did an edit/replace on that field. But not all the company names are always changed or changed to the same thing.
We then have to change the company name to the correct name based on their account number.
How does the company name get changed, is there a way to prevent this from happening?