Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Documents tab causes Act 16 to close.

Copper Contributor

Documents tab causes Act 16 to close.

Version: 16 Premium

MS Office 2013

Upgraded to Windows 10 recently.

Issue:  Some contacts have Excel or Word files that are linked to the documents folder in Act.  When I click the Documents Tab a small window comes up saying a program has stopped Act from working and then Act closes.  

I looked up the Sync history and there are several items about MS WIN 32 Registry Key and Act Outlook Service Desktop and Outlook Sync 

I am wondering if Act doesn't recognize the file type after Windows 10 upgrade.  Most of the files are .xlsx   

Would really appreciate the help.  (To be honest I have been using Act since 1999 and have never not had issues)  It is a lousy program.)  

Peterino

Bronze Super Contributor

Re: Documents tab causes Act 16 to close.

I don't think this is anything to do with the file types.

It's a known bug for Act! when running in W10.

PS. I'm sorry that you think that Act! is a lousy program. Have you ever received any training from an Act! consultant?

David Shaw
Act! Certified Consultant since 2001
Office:    +44 (0)1483 714507
Mobile: +44 (0)7977 567 318
E-Mail:    dshaw@act4u.org 
Copper Contributor

I have not had any specific trainging but I have used Act for the past 16 years.  There have been an assortment of different issues over the years and Act has not been helpful to resolve.  Lots of Outlook Sync issues.  I have just never found the Act programs to be stable.  

Copper Contributor

Do you think since it is a Windows 10 issue that it won't be resolved except for a newer version?  

Copper Elite Contributor

Where you having this issue before updating to Windows 10? And if you weren't how is it Acts fault?