Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Deleting Preferences Backup Files

Copper Contributor
Posts: 41
Country: United States

Deleting Preferences Backup Files

I've followed all the steps to reseting our preferences, however when I restart ACT the preferences folders and files reappear in the appdata folder.

 

These are the steps I've taken:

 

  1. Closed ACT
  2. Deleted all "preferencesBak" files
  3. Deleted the "Preferences" Folder
  4. Restarted ACT
After restarting ACT, I am brought to the Getting Started wizard and most of my preferences are reset, however some remain unchanged.  When I return to the appdata folder, all my "preferencesBak" have returned.  Does anyone have a solution for this ?
 
Chris 

 

 

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: Deleting Preferences Backup Files

Hello Chris,

To completely rebuild the preferences, delete or rename the entire Act for Windows (version#) directory inside the Application Data folder. If there is more than one of these folders (for instance, multiple versions of ACT!), then delete or rename them all. Then reboot your machine.

 

Please see the section entitled "Alternate Method: Manually Rebuilding Preferences" in the following Knowledgebase article for instructions and best practices:

 

How To Rebuild ACT! Preferences

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.