Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Decimal point problem

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 73
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Decimal point problem

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

 

We do not need any number of places after decimal point, so I revised the following fields in products database, and reduced the number of places to the right of decimal separator to zero.

 

Cost

Price

Subtotal

Adjusted Price

Discount

Quantity

 

When I create a new opportunity, and want to add a product, a red exclamation mark is shown to the right of these fields. On mouse over to this icon, it shows "value is not decimal"


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author paymanzafar
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,544
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Decimal point problem

Which decimal symbol are you using '.' or',' ?

David Shaw
Act! Certified Consultant since 2001
Office:    +44 (0)1483 714507
Mobile: +44 (0)7977 567 318
E-Mail:    dshaw@act4u.org 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,653
Country: USA

Re: Decimal point problem

I believe that message indicates a SQL data mismatch. Those fields are used in internal calculations and likely need to store a decimal value.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 73
Country: USA

Re: Decimal point problem

If I enter a number without typing decimal point, and fraction, it should accept it, and consider it as a decimal number with zero fraction.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,653
Country: USA

Re: Decimal point problem

Not necessarily because of the internal calculations. This becomes an issue of how SQL treats data types and decimal ranges. If the internal calculations create a decimal value and the target field doesn't allow decimals, you would get a data mismatch error which is what I suspect is happening.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 73
Country: USA

Re: Decimal point problem

I did not change the field type. It is not allowed. They are still of currency type. I just decreased the decimal fraction.

Solution
Accepted by topic author paymanzafar
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,544
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Decimal point problem

Which decimal symbol are you using '.' or',' ?

David Shaw
Act! Certified Consultant since 2001
Office:    +44 (0)1483 714507
Mobile: +44 (0)7977 567 318
E-Mail:    dshaw@act4u.org 
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 73
Country: USA

Re: Decimal point problem

Do you mean the decimal symbol which is set in Windows control panel? It is '.'

Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,544
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Decimal point problem

Yes

David Shaw
Act! Certified Consultant since 2001
Office:    +44 (0)1483 714507
Mobile: +44 (0)7977 567 318
E-Mail:    dshaw@act4u.org 
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 73
Country: USA

Re: Decimal point problem

Thank you very much for your help.

 

It was incorrectly set to '/'. The problem is solved.