Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Database not accessible error

Accepted Solution Solved
Skilled Commentator
Posts: 138
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Database not accessible error

I've not been able to get very far as my database for 2012 Premium gives me the following...

Database could not be accessed (after login box).  In order to access this database, check your network connection and verify that your database server is abailable.  It may be necessary to diable any firewall software...

 

I originally tried to backup my database to install the Beta version and it gave me an error. I did the error/integrity database maintenance and it seemed to work.  Then I was apparently locked out.  When I tried to get back in ther was just nothing.  I closed Act (mistake) now can't get in at all.  There were no problems prior to this.  Any ideas? I'd like to use this database for hte testing and obviously get back in.  I have no backup unless I can bring in info from the Connect site.


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author mistilayne
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Database not accessible error

I see that this issue is being addressed in a different forum thread. No further responses will be posted in this particular thread.
Greg Martin
Sage

View solution in original post


All Replies
Copper Contributor
Posts: 82
Country: USA

Re: Database not accessible error

I would try the 2013 beta which has some enhanced error messages for that generic message.

Keith Saccuci
ACT! R&D
Skilled Commentator
Posts: 138
Country: USA

Re: Database not accessible error

Ok, as long as I don't totally lose access to this this database. I started the list of fixes I found in the help but none help or seem relevant.
Skilled Commentator
Posts: 138
Country: USA

Re: Database not accessible error

Ok the new message is "A successful connection was made to the computer but cannot acces teh database because it is in single-user mode. Veryifying the database is not locked may resolve this issue.

How do I do that if I can't get into it?
Skilled Commentator
Posts: 138
Country: USA

Re: Database not accessible error

I verified that all files associated to this database are shared. However when I check the share properties they all are marked with a lock at Nobody. So I have to believe the database is locked however don't know how to change this. I'm not getting in at all and no items in the help database seem to pertain. Any help is appreciated. I use this all day long.
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Database not accessible error

Here is an article with instructions for unlocking a database: KB Article 14857

Greg Martin
Sage
Skilled Commentator
Posts: 138
Country: USA

Re: Database not accessible error

[ Edited ]

Yes tried that but get "Unhandled exception has occurred in your application..."  This is after I did the update to the Beta version.  The details I got are below.


************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at ActDiag.DatabaseCollection.ٖ()
at ActDiag.DatabaseCollection.BindDataGrid()
at ActDiag.DatabaseCollection..ctor(SqlConnection ConnSAConnection)
at ActDiag.ServerInfo.get_Databases()
at ActDiag.FormACTDiag.ם(Object Ԗ, EventArgs ԗ)
at System.Windows.Forms.MenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.MenuItem.MenuItemData.Execute()
at System.Windows.Forms.Command.Invoke()
at System.Windows.Forms.Command.DispatchID(Int32 id)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmCommand(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.269 (RTMGDR.030319-2600)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
ActDiag
Assembly Version: 15.0.243.0
Win32 Version: 15.0.243.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/ACT/Act%20for%20Windows/ActDiag.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.278 built by: RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.282 built by: RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.269 built by: RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.233 built by: RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Data
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.237 (RTMGDR.030319-2300)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_32/System.Data/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Data.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.233 built by: RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Transactions
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_32/System.Transactions/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Transactions.dll
----------------------------------------
System.EnterpriseServices
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_32/System.EnterpriseServices/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.EnterpriseServices.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.

Solution
Accepted by topic author mistilayne
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Database not accessible error

I see that this issue is being addressed in a different forum thread. No further responses will be posted in this particular thread.
Greg Martin
Sage
BWS
Tuned Listener
Posts: 23
Country: USA

Re: Database not accessible error

Will you please let me/us know what thread?  I'm having the same problem.

 

Thank you.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: Database not accessible error

[ Edited ]

BWS,
This issue was also posted in this topic in the Beta forum:
http://community.act.com/t5/General/Locked-database-error-need-help-ASAP/td-p/203310

 

It looks like you have access to the Beta area, so you should be able to view it.

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.