Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Creating a Lookup from the TaskList

Application: Sage ACT! Premium (Web) 2011 Version: 13.1.105.0

Browser: Mozilla Firefox vers. 12.0

O/S: Windows 2000 Professional, SPK 4 D/B

I am new to ACT/Web, however I am familiar with ACT6. My natural inclination is to do things as I am accustomed in the old system.

For instance: I would like to create a Lookup by selecting multiple tasks from the TaskList.

How is this done?

In ACT6, you do as follows...

(1) Highlight the desired tasks

(2) Right click

(3) Choose "Goto Contact" from the popup menu

Result: You will be taken into Contact mode, showing the desired records (ie a Lookup will have been created).

I've tried the same thing in ACT/Web but it doesn't seem to work, at least the way I'm doing it.

Here's what I'm doing...

(1) I open the TaskList (it shows 40 activities).

(2) I select 5 activities --- I click the fifth task, then hold down {Shift} , then drag the mouse to the 9th task.

(3) I click the MagnifyingGlass.

(4) This takes me to Contacts/ListView.

(5) I click DetailView

Result: It shows 40 records in the Lookup. I was expecting only 5.Apparently selecting activities by dragging the mouse is not working the way I had anticipated.

I thought it may be a browser problem (Firefox), so I tried Internet Explorer. Same results.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Now a couple of related questions:

(1) Why doesn’t ListView tell me how many records in the Lookup? Why do I have to go to DetailView to find out? In ACT6, the ContactList (the equivalent of ListView) displays how many records in the Lookup. Depending on how many records in the list and which record is currently selected, it may say or etc.

(2) Are there any user manuals or tutorials on this site, that show simple procedures as the one I've described above?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Gary

Re: Creating a Lookup from the TaskList