Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Continued Synch problems -- not quite the same

Copper Contributor
Posts: 48
Country: USA

Continued Synch problems -- not quite the same

Before, I tried to run the synchronization and it errored out before it even started.  This time, it appears to get all the way through, and then gives an error that says it didn't complete.  Here's my sync log.

 

======== SYNC SESSION - 8/13/2014 11:30:38 AM ========

[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:30:38 AM ]Message: Sync remote client created.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:30:38 AM ]Message: Checking if schema changes are available for sync.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:30:44 AM ]Message: Client establishing synchronization with server database: CMSALES
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:30:46 AM ]Message: Initial Handshake completed.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:30:46 AM ]Message: Checking if data changes are available for sync.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:30:48 AM ]Message: Client initialized database send session: 2
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:31:03 AM ]Message: Client initialized.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:31:07 AM ]Message: Client schema synchronized.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:31:23 AM ]Message: Server initialized.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:31:30 AM ]Message: Server schema synchronized.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:31:32 AM ]Message: Files synchronized.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:35:26 AM ]Message: Content synchronized.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:35:28 AM ]Message: Exceptions synchronized.
[ Info | 8/13/2014 11:35:30 AM ]Message: Synchronization completion done.
[ Error | 8/13/2014 11:35:37 AM ]Message: Synchronization has failed. Server Error Description: Could not load file or assembly 'Act.Shared.Licensing, Version=16.0.291.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=ebf6b2ff4d0a08aa' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.

 

Help.  Please.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 48
Country: USA

Re: Continued Synch problems -- not quite the same

I should say I found the right copy of Act.Shared.Licensing, Version=16.0.291.0 -- it is located in:

 

C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\assembly\GAC_MSIL\Act.Shared.Licensing\v4.0_16.1.207.0__ebf6b2ff4d0a08aa

 

Maybe someone could tell me if that's the right location? Or where their version is?  My ACT! version is v 16 SP1, HF2.

 

 

New Member
Posts: 19
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Continued Synch problems -- not quite the same

We are running the same version and that file is in the same location for us..

Copper Contributor
Posts: 48
Country: USA

Re: Continued Synch problems -- not quite the same

Thank you.  I may have to just wipe the computer of all signs of ACT! and reinstall.

New Member
Posts: 19
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Continued Synch problems -- not quite the same

Is it a case that it cant find it or simply cant access it such as the amount of user rights by the user executing ACT compared to the user that installed ACT?

Copper Contributor
Posts: 48
Country: USA

Re: Continued Synch problems -- not quite the same

Thanks for your suggestion. But I installed it via the account of the end user and even tried running the program as an admin (same user).  The thing is, even though it says the sync failed -- the data that was in the master db is in the remote.  Really confused by this.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,653
Country: USA

Re: Continued Synch problems -- not quite the same

Have you checked on the master Tools | Databased Maintenance | Shared ?

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Copper Contributor
Posts: 48
Country: USA

Re: Continued Synch problems -- not quite the same

Yes.  And that's the weird thing.  (If anyone else has seen this, it would be you with your experience).  This is a new remote database.  Because the original remote was suddenly and for no good reason unavailble to synch (looking at the database from the perspective of the remote user) even though the master side said it was ok and able to be synchronized.

 

This user has had all kinds of trouble. He's on Windows 7, so I'm not sure why -- Windows 8 and I might understand.  That's why I said I probably should just wipe EVERYTHING Act! (except his database) and start fresh.