In searching the forum I found the question below from April 2008 which is exactly what I am asking. The response was that there was no solution. Has anything changed since? I can't find any other references to this.
When using the calendar in the monthly view normally the Regarding field is shown. However, if more than one user is associated to the calendar entry it shows the "With" field thus producing <multiple contacts> on the screen. If I change it in the scheduler settings to show it individually then it will get more annoying as 5 entries of who is involved will show up. All I would like to do is have nothing but the "Regarding" field displayed regardless. Any ideas?