Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Browser Issues with ACT Premium for Web 2008 (10.0)

New Member
Posts: 4
Country: Spain

Browser Issues with ACT Premium for Web 2008 (10.0)

I know this is a known problem, but I just wonder if there is any helpful tips out there.

 

I use a Mac to access ACT from my home office, at present running IE7 under Crossover, and it is DISMALLY slow and sometimes unstable. Are there any tips to improve this, or use a native browser on the Mac ? (Safari, Firefox, Opera, Chrome....)

 

Thanks

 

Adam

My first posting here

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Browser Issues with ACT Premium for Web 2008 (10.0)

Firefox with the current version of ACT! for Web (wasn't supported with ACT! 2008) is probably the best.

There is a demo of ACT! for web 2011 that can be accessed from the free browser toolbar at:
http://glcomputingactfanatics.ourtoolbar.com/

You could test that with IE7/8 or Firefox and see if it's better
New Member
Posts: 4
Country: Spain

Re: Browser Issues with ACT Premium for Web 2008 (10.0)

Thank you for your reply.

 

My only problem is that I am the only remote user in the organization, which has no present plans to upgrade to the latest version. Hopefully this will change sometime.

 

I was just trying to find some interim solution!

 

But thanks again, and great to know that Firefox will work if and when we upgrade.

 

Adam

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Browser Issues with ACT Premium for Web 2008 (10.0)

New Member
Posts: 4
Country: Spain

Re: Browser Issues with ACT Premium for Web 2008 (10.0)

Yes that is another avenue, but at present there are no remote accesses created, and technical department would prefer not to go that way if not essential

 

Thanks again, much appreciated

 

 

 

Adam

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Browser Issues with ACT Premium for Web 2008 (10.0)

New Member
Posts: 4
Country: Spain

Re: Browser Issues with ACT Premium for Web 2008 (10.0)

Sorry Remote Desktop was what I meant.

 

Thanks as always

 

 

 

Adam

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Browser Issues with ACT Premium for Web 2008 (10.0)

If they have IIS for Web, it would be easy to create a Profile for terminal services and you'd connect to that ...

If you have plenty of RAM, you could also run Parallels - then install a local copy of ACT! and sync