Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Best way(s) to move ACT! 2009 Premium EX data to ACT! 2009 Premium for Web?

Best way(s) to move ACT! 2009 Premium EX data to ACT! 2009 Premium for Web?

Hi all, I'm new to ACT! and am really hoping someone can assist me.  I've been tasked with the following, but not exactly sure if it's possible or how to approach this properly.

[End-user info]

Windows XP Professional SP3
ACT! 2009 Premium EX Corporate Edition

User works with her local installation of ACT! daily, does not share it, essentially standalone.

I have setup ACT! 2009 Premium for Web on a Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition server and have verified web access and authentication to a default, non-populated database.

My task is to migrate all of her local ACT! data to the server for security and backup purposes.  I have given her admin rights on the default database on the web server.

Once all of her data is moved to the server, she would like to continue using her local installation of ACT! Premium EX and have it sync with the server, almost real-time so our traveling Sales team view these records remotely.

Is the above scenario even possible?   If so, could I get some pointers on how to accomplish this?

Thanks for listening and I sincerely appreciate any and all replies!

Tin

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Best way(s) to move ACT! 2009 Premium EX data to ACT! 2009 Premium for Web?

Does the user want to access the database directly or create a remote database and sync with it from her workstation?

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Thank you very much for replying!