Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

Copper Contributor
Posts: 150
Country: Belgium

Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

Hello, we've currently got 30 Licences for Sage Act 2012 Premium. We're running off a centralised database on our internal server.

 

Up till now we've only had people internally working with Act, but seeing as we'll soon be having a salesperson on the road, we want to give him access to Act remotely. We've thought of buying a single license for Sage Act For Web 2012 and hosting that on a small makeshift web-server which would be here localy, giving the salesperson access to it over the internet (we have a static IP and plenty of bandwith).

 

Ofcourse we'll be securing IIS, but we also want to know if it's possible to limit which user accounts can log-in on the Sage Act For Web portal?

 

Also it seems that Act stores the Serial Number in the database. Seeing as we'll be pointing the Act For Web server to the same local database we use internally, won't adding the Act For Web serial overwrite the Act 2012 Premium serial?

 

We've had horrible experiences using Sync in the past, and as such we'd like to avoid that approach. Also seeing as our database + attachments is skyrocketing in size the last few years, (We're at 76GB right now) that'd take up far too much bandwith.

 

So any pointers/tips/answers to my questions?

 

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,668
Country: USA

Re: Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

Sounds like synchronization would be the better choice.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA

Re: Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

you are going to need to have the web software installed on your server.  its going to be a rough road, you'll have to detatch your database take a back up and then uninstall act on your server then re-install the web version.

 

the desktops can hit the database running on the web client.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 150
Country: Belgium

Re: Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

Wouldn't that mean we'd need to buy 30 Act for Web licenses, instead of the current 30 Act 2012 Premium licenses we have?.

 

Belgium (or Europe maybe) seems to be getting gimped by Sage, whereas the US gets Act for Web as a free extra, here the licenses are sold separately.

 

Also as said before, is sync really an option with a database + attachments over 76GB in size, and growing exponentially? Last year our growth was 16GB, this year we're already at 26GB and counting. To top it off we've never had good experiences with sync.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 104
Country: United States

Re: Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

Your Act! Premium comes with Act Mobile.  This is typically used for smartphones and tablets.  But you can also acess with a computer (laptop).  It's a little bit of a striped down verison of Act, but for a road warrior, it should be sufficient.  Woudl that work?

Copper Contributor
Posts: 150
Country: Belgium

Re: Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

Isn't it Act For Web that comes with Act Mobile

New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA

Re: Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

yes in the states act premium includes web or desktop same license.  if that's different overseas that could be a problem.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 104
Country: United States

Re: Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

http://na.sage.com/Sage-ACT/products/sage-act-premium-mobile

 

Act Premium(access via web) and Act Mobile are different products.  Since you are overseas, maybe Act Mobile was not included (as you already stated Act Premium(access via web) was not).

 

 

Copper Contributor
Posts: 150
Country: Belgium

Re: Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

So we're pretty much out of options that don't involve Sync.

 

Seeing as this salesperson will be traveling france (our main office is in Belgium), would it be possible to set up the Act for Web with a sepparate database which (two-way) syncs with our main database, but sync only the records where the country field is set to France.

 

This way we could limit the amount of data that gets synced over (and not the full 76GB and growing DB.)

 

That is, if it's possible.

 

So: TLDR

Is it possible to sync only certain records (filtered by value of a field on the contact) over to a separate database, which would then contain only those records, and those made by the salesperson.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,668
Country: USA

Re: Act for Web 2012 Limit log-in

The present database size wouldn't be an issue, when the remote database is created all the present information would be included. You also can set a sync set that doesn't included all the contacts in the database. So long as the remote syncs frequently there shouldn't be any problems because the sync only deals witth new information.

 

Another thing to consider is that with sync the remote has the database available all the time, with ACT! for the WEB, only when connected to the internet.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129