Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Act! 2013 Premium - Web Access via IE10 on Win8 64bit

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Act! 2013 Premium - Web Access via IE10 on Win8 64bit

I just did a fresh install of Act! 2013 Premium - It went very smoothly until one end user tried accessing it via web from his windows 8 laptop.

 

He's running IE10 and windows 8 64-bit - Popups are allowed for the website, and the site is added to trusted sites. I've lowered the security ont rusted sites to low from medium as well.

 

The login page displays fine, but upon login, popup after popup comes up with only the following error: Object Error. That's it. I've reviewed the application and system logs and nothing in those.

 

I found a reference on the Act website that said to running IE10 in 32-bit mode on windows 8 - And after googling I found multiple ways to do this however none of them worked.

 

First off was the microsoft article: 32-bit browser applications may not work as expected in Internet Explorer 10 @ http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2716529 - The registry key in this article does not exist on this computer. I tried creating it and giving it a value over 0, still no help.

 

I tired running iexplore.exe directly from Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe but no difference.

 

I have disabled "Enhanced Protected Mode" and restarted, but still no change.

 

Users on Win7 have no issues.

 

Any help would be very much appreciated! Thanks,


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author mcguirej
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: Act! 2013 Premium - Web Access via IE10 on Win8 64bit

Found the problem - There was an addon called Privacy SafeGuard that wasn't removed by adwcleaner, or the IE reset.

 

After manually deleting it - Issue resolved!

 

Thanks for the help!

View solution in original post


All Replies
Copper Contributor
Posts: 23
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Act! 2013 Premium - Web Access via IE10 on Win8 64bit

Hello,

 

Have you applied 2013 SP1?

 

http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/32103/kw/internet%20explorer%2010#install

Regards,

Sam Keith
Caldere Associates
www.caldere.com
skeith@caldere.com
+44 (0)1189456220
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: Act! 2013 Premium - Web Access via IE10 on Win8 64bit

Yes,

 

Currently running version 15.1.108.0

Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,560
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Act! 2013 Premium - Web Access via IE10 on Win8 64bit

Have you installed HF4?  Download from http://cdn.act.dlm.swiftpage.com/2857/act2013sp1hf4.exe

 


David Shaw
Act! Certified Consultant since 2001
Office:    +44 (0)1483 714507
Mobile: +44 (0)7977 567 318
E-Mail:    dshaw@act4u.org 
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: Act! 2013 Premium - Web Access via IE10 on Win8 64bit

Doesn't look like it - I will try this today and check back in with results

Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: Act! 2013 Premium - Web Access via IE10 on Win8 64bit

Installed hotfx 4, no change.

 

In addition, I have found that the unit in question had some unwanted toolbars and such installed on it. Since then I have run ADWCleaner, Malwarebytes, reset IE to defaults afterwards multiple times, uninstalled/reinstalled IE10 from windows 8 via add/remove windows features, and still no change.

Solution
Accepted by topic author mcguirej
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: Act! 2013 Premium - Web Access via IE10 on Win8 64bit

Found the problem - There was an addon called Privacy SafeGuard that wasn't removed by adwcleaner, or the IE reset.

 

After manually deleting it - Issue resolved!

 

Thanks for the help!