Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Act 2012 Premium asking to register on a computer that it was already registered on

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Act 2012 Premium asking to register on a computer that it was already registered on

When we first installed it on some but not all of our Windows 7 Professional PC’s we were having various issues with other programs installed on the PC’s and the overall PC speed.  When we went back to a restore point prior to the ACT 2012 install, these issues went away.  We have since move forward to a new restore point post ACT 2012 install and things have seemed to have settled down.  However, on one PC that was giving us the most trouble we have moved to a post ACT 2012 install restore point and when we attempt to open ACT we get a message indicating that we need to register ACT, even though we had registered it on this PC in the past.  When we put in the serial number we get a message “ The serial number you entered has already been registered and activated”.  I would take this to mean that according to Sage we have registered this serial number 10(we purchased 10 user) times, which we have but in this case we are not installing it on a different computer, it’s on a computer that it had already been installed and registered on.  We also have another PC where the same thing happens but after three login attempts we get the normal login screen and can get in, strange?

 

Anyone have any idea as to what migh be going on here?

 

Thanks

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Act 2012 Premium asking to register on a computer that it was already registered on

Always avoid using System Restore if possible ... it will often damage other apps and parts of Windows. Often the only way to completely recover is to wipe the system, reinstall Windows and all apps

 

However, you might try this ACT! Knowledge Base article -

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14245

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: Act 2012 Premium asking to register on a computer that it was already registered on

Thanks Mike we tried several of your suggestions and the one that worked was the stps for the Invalis Act Registration Info.  Once we removed the file and re-started ACT we were able to register it again and login.  Thanks again!