Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Act 2009 on Small business server 2008

gtp
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United States

Act 2009 on Small business server 2008

Act 2009 premium or "V9" has been configured on our SBS 2008 server. The port for the ACT network sync is 65100 and is started.

The services for the ACT sysc sre running in services.msc. The port 65100 has been opened on the router and points to the server IP on TCP. The router has a static IP and the server has only one NIC.

 

We cannot sync with act remotely, meaning at our home, on an internet connection to our server at work. Our ISP does not block ports.

 

What can be causing this non sync issue? Is it an ACT issue or a SBS2008 issue? I'm not sure where to start. I have asked experts with Microsoft on the newsgroups and there does not appear to be problems with the server.

 

Thanks,

Greg

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,388
Country: Australia

Re: Act 2009 on Small business server 2008

Is it ACT! 2009 or V9?

ACT! 2009 is actually v11

 

What happens when you try to sync?

Are you using Application, Network or Internet sync?

 

What happens if you try (from a remote), in a cmd prompt:

Telnet 65100 ServerName

gtp
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United States

Re: Act 2009 on Small business server 2008

Its ACT 2009, sorry.

 

If you telnet "router IP" to 65100 off the network there is no connection. ACT says its listening and the port is open on the router. Firewall and antivirus is off.

 

The remote laptop user uses the synconize now button to try sync remotely.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,668
Country: USA

Re: Act 2009 on Small business server 2008

Have you checked the client firewall?
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
gtp
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United States

Re: Act 2009 on Small business server 2008

Yes, we turned the firewall completley off as well as his antivirus.

 

Shouldn't I be able to telnet from any system off the network to: telnet [router IP] 65100

 

If its listening I should be able to sync onto the remote server. It says its listening. Is there any other configurations in active directory or somewhere on the server that needs my attention?

gtp
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United States

Re: Act 2009 on Small business server 2008

I opened DMZ on the router and forwarded it to the server IP address, now we can telnet and sync.

 

Greg

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,388
Country: Australia

Re: Act 2009 on Small business server 2008

Yup... if you can get there from inside, but not from outside... most likely the post isn't forwarded from the router