Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

ASP.NET setup on Win. XP

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Accepted Solution

ASP.NET setup on Win. XP

I'm attempting to set up web access on the 2012 version using a Win. XP MCE machine. The machine has all Microsoft updates installed. However, since it's not a server OS, ASP.NET is not an installable Windows component. (All hardware concerns are already well addressed.)

This is my first time setting up up ACT! for web access and I need some clarity on which of the many ASP.NET offerings I should install - if any. Three options are listed on the Get Started page. On the Downloads page is a featured package (green Install Now button) different from those on the Get Started page, and at least two other packages.

Does anyone have a recommendation and some rationale to go with it?

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author MichaelStJ
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor

Re: ASP.NET setup on Win. XP

[ Edited ]

OK, I finally passed the Web Server test in Web Site Admin.

I had copied the 4 APFW directories from the ACT! for Web program directory to C:\Inetpub\wwwroot, then restarted the SQL server (maybe not necessary) and ACT!.

I eventually got the ASP.NET impersonation account to test OK and now the web site set up is complete, at least within the Web Site Admin. tool.

Apparently the original problem was with MSDTC being unable to start. Anyway, I'm now much relieved to be back in the world of ordinary problems.

For those who rushed here for a solution, the proceedure at http://support.microsoft.com/?id=891801 was the critical piece. Re-installing IIS may or may not have been necessary. See above posts for details.

Thanks, Matthew, for your assistance.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Employee

You should be able to install ASP.Net via console commands from the .Net version appropriate for your version of Act, in this case 3.5. 

1. Click Start then Run.