Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACTPremium for Web 2010 Performance issues

Accepted Solution Solved
Avid Listener
Posts: 17
Country: United Arab Emirates
Accepted Solution

ACTPremium for Web 2010 Performance issues

 We are running ACT Premium For Web 2010 with Hotfix 4. our ACT server started to run really slow. We noticed that the w3wp.exe processes were consuming heaps massive amounts of CPU.  There were also messages in the system logs that indicated that the w3wp.exe services were respawning every second.  As a result of this issue logging in, search for contacts and search for companies ran very slow.We were running on windows Server 2003.   So we decided to build a new Windows Server 2003 server. Reloaded Act On the server; we have tested following things. 
  1. IIS Service stopped & check the performance of CPU is only 1%. (Without ACT Application)
  2. IIS Service stopped & check the utilization of Network is only 0.5%. Without ACT Application)
  3. IIS Service stopped & start the ACT application through software on server & even though the utilization of CPU is 68%.
  4. IIS Service stopped & start the ACT application through software on server & check the utilization of Network is only 0.1%.  
  5. IIS Service started & removed the Outlook intergation path from IIS & then start ACT application through IE. In this case CPU utilization is 1%.
  6. IIS Service started & removed the Outlook intergation path from IIS & then start ACT application through IE. In this case CPU utilization is normal but when we click any of the option in ACT for seconds CPU utilization get increased to 20%
  7. Restore the Outlook intergation path & restart IIS Service. Also created new pool for Outlook intergation which was advice by Amanda & change the Outlook intergation pool to new one even though the utilization of CPU is 70%.   

Note: This all things are tested only on Server along with two clients machine.

 

Any idea what is causing problem?I have read that; this might be because of one of the webclient system; where Act.Outlook.Service goes for a loop trying to attach the same email over and over again.How do we find this particular client? RegardsSPT 

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author shameer
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Bronze Elite Contributor
Posts: 2,518
Country: USA

Re: ACTPremium for Web 2010 Performance issues

Below is a link to a open source utility that will monitor network traffic and allow you to identify which client machines are causing the spike in resource load.  

 

Download WireShark

 

Run the trace for a few minutes.

Stop the trace.

Go to Statistics > Conversations

View the IPv4 tab.

The default sort should be by packets.

Look to see who the largest number of packets or bytes come from.

These are the machines you will need to visit.

 

Hope that helps.  

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: ACTPremium for Web 2010 Performance issues

Try one client at a time... see if it's different - reboot the server betwwen and check the CPU utilization before anyone logs in.

This would show if it's a specific client or the server.

You might look at the IIS logs and see if a specific IP shows a lot of traffic

 

Also make sure you have latest service pack on Win 2003... older versions had some bugs that did this. Some were fixed in later builds.

 

Also try disabling any anti-virus. McAfee is known to cause these issues with ASP:

http://dotnetfreak.co.uk/blog/archive/2005/02/15/asp-net-w3wp-exe-100-cpu-usage-and-mcafee-virusscan...

 

Failing that, goto cmd prompt..type iisapp and enter...

You will get a list of application pools and the PID nr in cmd window.Now open the task bar and see the PID of the w3wp.exe file idenify the same in cmd prompt.

Avid Listener
Posts: 17
Country: United Arab Emirates

Re: ACTPremium for Web 2010 Performance issues

Hi GL computing;

Thank you very much for your quick response.

I think this might be because of the one of the client.But what is the location of the IIS logs file; from there i can get a clue of which machine is consuming huge traffic.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: ACTPremium for Web 2010 Performance issues

Try one client at a time to test your theory

 

Log files - Right-click on Default Web (or your Virtual Folder) in IIS Management. Then Properties.

 

While this doc was for the web version of ACT! 6.0 on Windows 2000... much of it is still relevant and you might find it useful:

http://blog.glcomputing.com.au/2009/01/iis-installation-and-lockdown-with.html

Avid Listener
Posts: 17
Country: United Arab Emirates

Re: ACTPremium for Web 2010 Performance issues

Dear GL Computing

Thank you very much for your updates.

I think we will have to  visit each client and check for the history queue folder to find if there is any messages stuck up in the queue?

But what if it happens after installing on 100 clients? IIS log files didn't give information about which machine is causing problem.

Did you find this problem as common in ACT 2010 Web version?

Should we downgrade to 2009 version? will that help us?

 

Regards

SPT

 

 

Avid Listener
Posts: 17
Country: United Arab Emirates

Re: ACTPremium for Web 2010 Performance issues

Hi

Is there any windows tool which can find out which machine in the network causing problem?

visiting all 100 clients and checking the history queue does not seems to be a solution.

Can we expect an update from sage for this issue?

 

Also what i noticed is that when there is no contact present in ACT database and we try to send him an email, this email get stuck up in the history queue.

Is there any settings where we can tell if the contact is not there; don't save the attachment in the Hostory queue?

 

Regards

SPT

Solution
Accepted by topic author shameer
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Bronze Elite Contributor
Posts: 2,518
Country: USA

Re: ACTPremium for Web 2010 Performance issues

Below is a link to a open source utility that will monitor network traffic and allow you to identify which client machines are causing the spike in resource load.  

 

Download WireShark

 

Run the trace for a few minutes.

Stop the trace.

Go to Statistics > Conversations

View the IPv4 tab.

The default sort should be by packets.

Look to see who the largest number of packets or bytes come from.

These are the machines you will need to visit.

 

Hope that helps.