Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACT Premium 2008 sa password

DNI
New Member
Posts: 1
Country: United States

Re: ACT Premium 2008 using password

[ Edited ]

Greetings,

 

We are using ACT2008 Premium for Web. Our backup solution is Veritas/Symantec BackupExec 11.  BackupExec would not allow us to backup the SQL database without the SA password. Our very kind sales rep informed us that it would be $499 for this privilege.

 

Here is the workaround to this problem:

 

Mixed Mode authentication IS enabled on the database. You can confirm this in the registry here:

 

Go to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQLServer in the tree on the left.

On the right, look for an entry named LoginMode.

The default value should be 2 for mixed-mode.

 

All you need to do now is add the local administrator account to the following security groups on the DB server: 

 

SQLServer2005MSSQLServerADHelperUser$SERVERNAME

SQLServer2005MSSQLUser$TRACACT01$ACT7

SQLServer2005SQLBrowserUser$SERVERNAME

 

Verify that the SQL Server Browser service is running.

 

Restart the the SQL Server Service.

 

Restart all your BackupExec Services. You should now be able to use the local administrator account to access the database. If BackupExec is on a different server make sure you enter your username as "SERVERNAME\Administrator" if you are in a domain.

Message Edited by DNI on 07-21-2008 09:44 AM
Message Edited by DNI on 07-21-2008 09:45 AM
New Member
Posts: 2
Country: United States

Re: ACT Premium 2008 sa password

Well... I want to use the MS SQL Server Engine to host other databases having nothing to do with ACT! Yet, I cannot seem to access the engine to create/access new databases, apparently because of the lack of the sa password.

 

Any ideas for how to get around that?  I certainly don't want to have to run two instances of MS SQL Server on my machine!

 

Thanks...jon

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,584
Country: Australia

Re: ACT Premium 2008 sa password


@JESii wrote:

Well... I want to use the MS SQL Server Engine to host other databases having nothing to do with ACT! Yet, I cannot seem to access the engine to create/access new databases, apparently because of the lack of the sa password.

 

Any ideas for how to get around that?  I certainly don't want to have to run two instances of MS SQL Server on my machine!

 

Thanks...jon


 

ACT! can only use it's own instance, doesn't matter if using the included version of your own ... multiple instances still use the same engine and SQL is designed for this.

Gold Contributor
Posts: 3,721
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: ACT Premium 2008 sa password

I don't know about the rest of the world but my understanding is that Sage UK now provide both the ACT Reader and ACT sa Password utilities free of charge on request. You have to complete the license agreement form first.

 

Jeff

Jeff Granger
UK ACT! Specialist and Trainer

ACT Training Throughout The UK
www. bigbluemarketing.co.uk
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,584
Country: Australia

Re: ACT Premium 2008 sa password

In Australia, they haven't been, but are about to provide the ACTReader free to Premium users. In the US, I think they get ACTReader and SA if the pay for the Platinium Support.

 

But either way... ACT! will still need it's own instance.

 

The ACTReader is reall just for reporting and the SA utility is only so that you can run corporate SQL backups

Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: ACT Premium 2008 sa password

ACT! Reader may be free, but I doubt the SA password utility is.
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 138
Country: United States

Re: ACT Premium 2008 sa password

Jon, I would highly (very highly) recommend that you NOT comingle non-ACT! databases on the ACT7 instance.  You will not be supported and will encounter issues.  Again, I strongly encourage you to not go down this path.

 

Rather, use the multiple named instance support that Microsoft has architected into the product intentionally by-design.

 

Why don't you want two instance of SQL Server service running on your machine?  If you're concerned about memory, you're going to have an issue either way with many databases consuming resources on one instance vs. multiple. 

Bill Blakey
ACT! Development Team
Sage Software

Copper Contributor
Posts: 37
Country: Germany

Re: ACT Premium 2008 using password

Thanks!      that hint definitively save my day...

 

it works for ACT Premium 2009 (11.0) too...

even with BackupExec 10.d after adding the SQL 2005 functionality patch

 

PS: if using a "Domain\User" account, best to add this also to the Windows Backup Operators group. 

 

can anybody move that very good workaround to the "eternal" solutions list, so others do not have to "search" for it first..

 

best regards,

Martin Glueckmann
ACT since 1995 for 40+ user teams in
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Benelux
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Country: United States

Re: ACT Premium 2008 using password

Hi DNI;

I've tried to use this methodology, but found that there wasn't a group named:

SQLServer2005MSSQLUser$TRACACT01$ACT7


I tried creating it, but still no go.  I suspect that one of two things may be happening:

1. Possibly that it won't allow remote connections via TCP/IP - what key would I add/change to allow this?
2. It could be that I'm not addressing the server name for the ACT instance of SQL Server.

 

Any ideas?  Thanks!

Copper Contributor
Posts: 37
Country: Germany

Re: ACT Premium 2008 using password

it seems there was a typo in the original post, showing a wrong servername...

 

Those 6 groups should reside on the ACT Server and each of them contains as a member the
dedicated     Domain\Useraccount      which is used to run the Backup-Service (remotely or locally)

They might contain more than this user, but that is not important for the backup service account.
It might be possible that the account is not really needed in ALL groups,
but I did not want to do any more testing as my quick-and-dirty approach was already working,
as said im my standard tagline - "perfection is no excuse for loosing the game..."

 

Group Name

 Backup-Operators
 SQLServer2005MSFTEUser$<servername>$ACT7
 SQLServer2005MSSQLServerADHelperUser$<servername>
 SQLServer2005MSSQLUser$<servername>$ACT7
 SQLServer2005SQLAgentUser$<servername>$ACT7
 SQLServer2005SQLBrowserUser$<servername>

 

best regards,
Martin

Martin Glueckmann
ACT since 1995 for 40+ user teams in
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Benelux