Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACT 2010 upgrade to 2011 sync databases

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 105
Country: New Zealand
Accepted Solution

ACT 2010 upgrade to 2011 sync databases

About to upgrade ACT! 2010 to 2011 Premium. I have a master database and 4 remote databases. Wil I have to setup the remote databases from scratch or will ACT! upgrade the existing setup for me when I install the new version?

 

(all this to integrate ACT! with Office 2010, sigh)

 

Thanks

 

Stephen

Stephen Buckland
stephenbuckland@gmail.com

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author stephenb
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Nickel Super Contributor
Posts: 352
Country: Canada

Re: ACT 2010 upgrade to 2011 sync databases

Hi Stephen,

 

Simply upgrade the ACT! installation on each computer, and when you open the remote databases you'll be prompted to allow ACT! to upgrade them, after which they will continue to synchronize with your upgraded master database.

 

Best regards,

Len

Len Kamerman
ACT! Certified Consultant

Act E-mail Marketing Trainining Course:

http://actsoftware.training

View solution in original post


All Replies
Solution
Accepted by topic author stephenb
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Nickel Super Contributor
Posts: 352
Country: Canada

Re: ACT 2010 upgrade to 2011 sync databases

Hi Stephen,

 

Simply upgrade the ACT! installation on each computer, and when you open the remote databases you'll be prompted to allow ACT! to upgrade them, after which they will continue to synchronize with your upgraded master database.

 

Best regards,

Len

Len Kamerman
ACT! Certified Consultant

Act E-mail Marketing Trainining Course:

http://actsoftware.training
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 105
Country: New Zealand

Re: ACT 2010 upgrade to 2011 sync databases

This does work as explained. Just don't register ACT! until you have all your licences. Keep in trial mode.

 

Cheers,

 

Stephen

Stephen Buckland
stephenbuckland@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 11
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2010 upgrade to 2011 sync databases

this does not work as explained, on a new installation of a client, the desktop behaves like a server, with full sync panel controls and no option to connect to a server.
Nickel Super Contributor
Posts: 352
Country: Canada

Re: ACT 2010 upgrade to 2011 sync databases

That's because Stephen's question was about upgrading, not installing on a new client.  I'd ask you to clarify your question, but if you post it as a new thread it'll be easier to read and for others with similar questions to find.

 

Cheers,

Len

Len Kamerman
ACT! Certified Consultant

Act E-mail Marketing Trainining Course:

http://actsoftware.training
New Member
Posts: 11
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2010 upgrade to 2011 sync databases

I have created a new topic, any insight would be helpful Len...