Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Simple implementation of API sample

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Accepted Solution

Simple implementation of API sample

I'm pretty new to REST, JSON, and AJAX.  I'm trying to implement a sample from the Web API, but I'm not able to get so much as a response - success, failure, or otherwise.  My test is a simple html page with a button that calls a function with the following:

$.ajax({
   type: "GET",
   dataType: "json",
   url: "http://localhost/Act.Web.API/api/Contacts/<Contact ID here>",
   success: function () {
      alert("success!");
   },
   error: function () {
      alert("error!");
   },
   headers: {
      "Authorization": "Bearer <key goes here>"
   }
});

When I click the button, nothing happens.  I confirmed the function is called, but I get neither success nor error.  I assume I'm doing something wrong, but I can confirm the ContactID and the bearer key work for the API sample page.  Could someone provide a simple sample of a script which uses GET api/Contacts/{id}?

Thanks.

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author bconner26
‎01-28-2016 11:32 AM
Employee

Re: Simple implementation of API sample

[ Edited ]

I don't know why I didn't catch this before, but if you are running js in a browser, could very well be a CORS issues.

Basically, the js you are executing isn't from the same origin as the API, and browsers don't like that (prevents malicious js).   Our API needs to support CORS requests from the browser, which it does, and we need to trust the domain where your js is hosted.  Which we let you support.

In a production environment, you can do that via our Web API configuration file.  Or you can do that dynamically via API (we have a CORS endpoint).